New to AA and Saltwater! Looking for some advice.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dan81

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi All! I have been trolling this site for a few months now and after a ton of research here and other sites, I decided to finally start a FOWLR set up. I set up a 29 gallon tank with 30lbs of live rock last friday 3.1.09. I set up the tank in the morning and I tested the water that night.
PH: 8.0
Ammonia: .4
Nitrite:.2
Nitrate:10

On 3.3.09 I tested again
PH:8.0
Ammonia: .2
I added a little flake food to see if I would get a ammonia spike.

Finally last night I tested again:
PH:8.0
Ammonia:.2

So my levels pretty much have not changed. I am going to pick up a different test kit today and see if anything changes, if all is the same I will throw a raw shrimp in there and see if I get a spike in ammonia.
My question is, is this a good plan? If i dont see a big spke can I assume the tank is just about cycled and just wait till ammonia and nitrite drops to Zero?

I will aslo post some pictures soon!

Sorry for the long post.

Welcome to AA. I think you are on the right track with the shrimp. I can't remember who said it but putting the shrimp in a plastic baggie with holes will help you remove it after the cycle.

Welcome to AA. Remember your cycle will not happen over nite. It will take a few weeks.

Yeah I was hoping that if I stared at the tank full of rocks all day it would go faster but I guess not:).
Yeah I do know that i need to wait a few weeks I was just curious about when I would start seeing the readings start to change.

And Thank you all for the warm Welcome!

Great job so far! Looking at your test results, it looks as if the possible die-off from the LR is adding a slight ammonia source (thus the low readings), try the shrimp, I prefer 1 jumbo, raw unseasoned shrimp per 30G of water.