new to the hobby :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zypher

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hey guys, i'm brand new to this hobby - very literally...i haven't purchased any sort of item. i've done quite a bit of research on what i want (originally i wanted to do a micro - considering i have no experience in this hobby it was advised that i don't and start with a 40 gallon or above)...i understand that i'm going to make mistakes, i'm just hoping they aren't fatal...last thing i want to do is delete my tank. so far this is what i'm thinking my setup is going to be..if anyone has a suggestion by all means please let me know

40 or 55 gallon long
pacific live rock (probably around 30 lbs from what i've been told)
2 - power heads rated at 300 each (considering using one rated for 600)
2 - 60-70 watt heaters
2 in bed live sand (mix of aragonite and broken shell/coral)
protein skimmer
(i'm not sure what kind of lighting i want..any suggestions?)

as far as fish i'm thinking i want to do these:
2 ocellaris common clown fish
2 pajama cardinal fish (or 2 banggai cardinal fish)
1 or 2 firefish (maybe purple firefish) or 1-2 neon gobies

what i'm wondering about this is will this system support any combination of these:
star shell snail
common cleaner shrimp
sally light foot crab (or a red or blue legged hermit)

am i overstocking my tank if i add any of those?

also, i want to eventually add a clam to my aquarium (in the future)...
probably the tridacna derasa...i know it's large, but from what i've read the lighting for it is less vigorous..

any information/criticism would be greatly appreciated :)

Welcome aboard. We are glad you found us here at AA. :welcome:

Moved to Getting started forum. You`ll get more looks there.

Welcome to the forum!