Newbie!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

davePM

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi, I'm new around here :p

Ive been keeping tropicals for too many years to remember :p Currently only have 1 tank, with Oscars and Plec's in.

Decided it was time to try something different and taste the salty side of life!

Managed to pick up a River Reef 94 VERY cheap ;)

So, I have a few questions:

Tank is now full of RO/salted, Live sand substrate and some live rock. Filter is some foam/wool/floss stuff and a couple carbon pads in compartment 1, heater in 2, skimmer and ceramic biomass type stuff in 3 and pumps in 4. Im thinking of changing 2 to live rock rubble,
Do i just fill the compartment with the rubble? (obviously after moving the heater!).
Do i need the wool/floss and carbon in 1?
Should i remove the biomass/ceramics? nitrate factory?
Do i need Rowaphos? Seems everyone is using it!

Thanks in advance!

Dave

Thought of another Q!! (sorry!)
How long after introducing the LR before I should expect to see signs of life ? And what do I look for?

Dave

Hi Dave, and welcome to AA!

I'll try to answer some of your questions as best i can:

Do i just fill the compartment with the rubble? (obviously after moving the heater!).
Yes, you should be fine with putting in LR rubble in the 2nd compartment. Just make sure there is a good flow. Circulation + LR = the best filtration for SW tanks.

Do i need the wool/floss and carbon in 1?
The Wool/floss should help as a mechanical filtration. This can be reused as long as you clean it out every so often as your maintenance schedule dictates.

Should i remove the biomass/ceramics? nitrate factory?