The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

palechek13

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've been doing freshwater tanks for about 2 years now and I really want to invest in the beautiful saltwater aquariums. I have 3 community freshwater tanks and I just cleared one out to start my saltwater. It is a 29 gallon tank. It's 8 months established freshwater. I know it's not really to big but I'm not looking for a lot of fish or big ones. I was thinking clown fish with some inverts. The problem is I really have no clue what order to buy equipment. I would really appreciate if someone could help me get this started. I have plenty of money saved up for my new saltwater tank I'm excited to get it going.

Some basics are filtration in a protein skimmer, flow device like a power head or wave maker. Obviously a heater, thermometer, test kits, and lighting. Now do you plan on a sump or no? Reef , fowlr, or fish only?

I have a heater and a light that's about it. I wanna do some live rocks and one annenome. I basically want a small reef. So in a couple days what should I pick up first.

A sump is another tank plumbed into the display tank to hide equipment or run a fuge. For a reef your going to need good lighting so I would start researching lighting. To start cycling all you need is the heater some flow( for a 30 reef I would go with 2 korilia nano 425's in opposite sides of the tank) rock and sand. You also want to pick up salt and ro/di water, either bought from lfs or a unit( best $200 I've spent in this hobby is my ro unit) don't use tap this will lead to algae problems down the road

So I'm gonna pick up a different lighting for the tank. An external filter of some sort. The current fans and the salt mix with reverse osmosis water. How much would the cost be on this approx?I live in Wisconsin btw.