Newbie lighting question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ebius

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all. I have been looking around for quite some time and have found the answers to most of my questions. Just a quick thanks to everyone for the great advice you have!! I have done several searches and cannot find what i now need to know.

I am new to saltwater and am going tostart a reef. I have had a rather large tank fall into my lap(119 Gal, 48x18x31) This tank looks a little deep tho at 31". Will i have to push much more light to get to the bottom? I am looking at MH. Also, when i am looking at lighting it doesn't seem like i can get 7 wpg in a 110 Gal that is only 48" wide. Do you take the total watts or the lighting fixture, or just the MH lights in it? Most of the 48" hoods i have found only have 2x150 MH lights but also have 2x150ish Dual Actinic. Would this be a 300 watt hood, or 600? Also, can I just replace the 150 watt MH bulbs with like 2 250 bulbs?

I know lighting can be a real brain teaser, but I am really trying to figure all this out before i get the tank up and going. Idealy I would have enough light to keep anything I find that I like. TIA for any advice you guys have.

The ballast wattage has to match the bulb wattage, but total wattage is all lights combined blue and regular. You could get a hood with 2 400 watt bulbs or you could go with 2 250w plus some pc lighting in the blues to bring up your wattage.