Newbie seeking assistance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mtlion

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello everyone, my wife wants to get me a saltwater aquarium for my 30th bday. I have been reading saltwater aquariums for dummies (like I said I'm a newb :)) I am thinking that for my humble start I would like to start a FOWLR tank. I am looking at buying a corner 54g tank with a bowed front. My biggest question I guess is what it the best equipment to start with? After my research I think that the combinaton of the live rock, and a canister filter may be my best option. Also a protein skimmer seems to be a must. I was wondering if a airstone or two may also be appropriate. Also looking at a submersible heater. One other question I have is about the gravel. Should I use a crushed coral base then top with sand or just use one or the other. Sorry such a long post but I have so many questions. Any help or suggestions on what to use to get started would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!!

Welcome to the wonderful world of SW. It's awesome that your wife supports you on this, that can be trouble for some folks.

Keep reading and learning and researching. You cannot spend too much time doing this before you get started.

54g tank is a pretty good place to start. Bigger is better for learning on, as the more water volume you have the more forgiving your tank can be to the typical mistakes everyone makes.

Sufficient live rock and a skimmer is all you need to be successful as far as your bio filtration are concerned, but there's a million and 1 ways to implement this. Airstones are not necessary.