Nik's 45 Gallon Build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DJFam

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey all! After 4 months of immense challenge, I finally am ready to launch a thread about my 45 Gallon build!

I am new to Salt Water here in Phoenix, AZ, coming over from the Fresh Water side. I originally started my 45 gallon in Mid-June, with approximately 50 lbs. of live rock from the LFS I continuously frequent; and 40 lbs. of sand.

I am running a HOB AquaClear 70 filter, 2 Koralia Evolutions (750 gph and 550 gph), 120 watts of lighting [1 Nova Extreme t5 dual 39 Watt (78 watts total from 1 white 10,000K and 1 Actinic 460nm blue bulbs), 1 Coralife dual linear Aqualight (2x21 Watt, total 42 watts)], Instant Ocean Sea Salt, API Reef and Master SW kits, and 3 lbs. of live rubble in the HOB filter.

After cycling tank with the live rock, the build was ready to go in July and we added 2 Black/Orange Oscellari Clowns. We added 1 Diamond Watchmen Goby and 1 Skunk Cleaner shrimp in August. In august we also added our clean-up crew (several hermits and Snails- Astrea and Nerite). My tank readings remained great with Nitrates averaging 5-10 despite weekly PWCs.

image-1338193337.jpg

In Mid-August we attempted to add a Dwarf Flame Angel after 1 week of quarantine. Unfortunately, I learned my first major lesson due to my stubbornness and excitement towards adding a "centerpiece fish" to our display. Day 5 in the display tank was a brutal one; the Flame Angel showed physical signs of ICH - white spots/pimples everywhere. It definitely wasn't a fun experience but it was a huge learning experience. Before I got the quarantines back up and running (15 gallon tall and 20 gallon long), the Flame Angel died the next morning.