Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-19-2012, 10:37 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
No ammonia no shrimp...

F i have no ammonia dosages or a shrimp what else from the fridge can i throw in to start a cycle?
__________________

__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 10:54 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
I have actually heard that in Germany they pee in their tanks to get ammonia into it. Lol
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 10:55 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by crister13
I have actually heard that in Germany they pee in their tanks to get ammonia into it. Lol
Ew. Hahaaaa
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 11:08 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
christine2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: fredericksburg Va
Posts: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Openbrain
F i have no ammonia dosages or a shrimp what else from the fridge can i throw in to start a cycle?
I've heard about using a cucumber to do so
__________________
"Be exactly who you want to be, do what you want to do! I am he and she is she, but, you're the only YOU!"
christine2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 12:18 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
IchthyChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 87
Any raw fish will do. Just not to big. Just keep it "shrimp" size. You could use raw beef in a pinch but a smaller non fatty piece. The oils in red eat take longer to break down.
__________________
IchthyChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by IchthyChris
Any raw fish will do. Just not to big. Just keep it "shrimp" size. You could use raw beef in a pinch but a smaller non fatty piece. The oils in red eat take longer to break down.
Off to the store. I have nothing you all said. Thanks friends!!
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 02:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by IchthyChris
Any raw fish will do. Just not to big. Just keep it "shrimp" size. You could use raw beef in a pinch but a smaller non fatty piece. The oils in red eat take longer to break down.
Ok how long do i leave the shrimp in? Its been a few weeks
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 03:13 PM   #8
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Openbrain View Post
Ok how long do i leave the shrimp in? Its been a few weeks
Untill you get some readings of ammonia. I would say about 3-4 ppm on your water test results.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:01 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58

Untill you get some readings of ammonia. I would say about 3-4 ppm on your water test results.
Ok def have it. I was worried about removing the ammonia source and the cycling cycle
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58

Untill you get some readings of ammonia. I would say about 3-4 ppm on your water test results.
I have removed the disgusting shrimp. Now a water change?
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:16 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
Depends on what your readings are. If the ammonia and nitrites are at 0ppm and nitrates are high, then do a water change. If you still have ammonia or nitrites you need to continue dosing ammonia.
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:36 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman
Depends on what your readings are. If the ammonia and nitrites are at 0ppm and nitrates are high, then do a water change. If you still have ammonia or nitrites you need to continue dosing ammonia.
Continue dosing-or leave the shrimp in correct?

Ammonia 0.25ppm
Nitrites 0.8mg
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:05 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 177
I have read both no water changes during a cycle and yes do water changes during cycles i have read both of them working out. Dont know if one or the other makes it go by any faster
__________________
VinnyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:41 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
keep dosing ammonia. The cycle isnt done yet. I like to use pure ammonia, that way you can precisely control the amount.
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:52 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman
keep dosing ammonia. The cycle isnt done yet. I like to use pure ammonia, that way you can precisely control the amount.
Hmmm where do you get pure ammonia?
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:03 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
I got mine at Ace hardware. You just have to make sure there are no surfactants in it.
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 06:12 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman
I got mine at Ace hardware. You just have to make sure there are no surfactants in it.
Okayyy!
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 06:13 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
I can see the next Q now. How can I tell?
Shake the $h!t out of the bottle then look inside. Surface bubbles should disappear immediately if no surfactants present. Bubbles = not good.
__________________

__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, rim, shrimp

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.