OK.. this is what im working with

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

am i set up right for what i want?

• Total voters

juice28

Aquarium Advice Freak
to be short and sweet, I'm new to marine set ups and Ive been reading a lot but the terminology is whooping my but lol. I'm looking up types of light and overflows and all this trying to see if it looks like mine, guess i need a marine picture dictionary so i took pics to show!
now for all you pros and semi pros, this is my set up 47 gal. not sure of the specific terms for the type of equip. i have, i know it has 2 bio wheels...can ya tell me what is missing and what type of "overflow" or lighting i have, its a regular fish tank light.(guy at the store said its fine for coral or clams) no reflective material inside and is it possible to set it up as a reef tank? corals inverts and have a dwarf lion-fish or 2 or a fu manchu lion-fish(later on of course) or should i get a "wider" less tall tank? OHH and my tank is super clean! is there a way to increase good bacteria? I spent a fair amount on it and i do have some live rock in it but not a whole lot(bout 5lbs) compared to the 10-15 lbs of non live base rock

Attachments

• biowheels.jpg
    biowheels.jpg
    57.8 KB · Views: 99
  • front shot.jpg
    front shot.jpg
    7 KB · Views: 123
  • overflow.jpg
    overflow.jpg
    5.3 KB · Views: 124
  • tank.jpg
    tank.jpg
    35.2 KB · Views: 85
I'll let the experts chime in more on this, but you're going to need some real strong lighting more than likely if you'd like corals in the tank. Tall tanks arn't really good for reefs.

Your fish are going to be limited, since there is limited surface area. You'll haveto have less fish than you would for a 47 long for example. I would definatly get more LR and also throw in some raw grocery store shrimp in there to get your cycle growing.