Ok, What type of filter should I use for my reef tank....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CountZero

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am just about ready to set up my reef tank, A 120 gal. I just ordered the lighting and all I am missing now is the protein skimmer, UV, And filter. I have heard don't use cannister filter, use a wet dry. don't use a wet dry use nothing but the protein skimmer and some powerheads, Maybe a couple of Biowheels. I have heard use the protein skimmer with the UV only....

I don't know what to do as I am still pretty new to the whole marine aquarium thing. I have my 55 gal FO tank and I have been being real patient with it and it is doing really well now with just a Niger trigger and 3 damnsels (not a typo :) )

I have the money, I am ready to go, and I want to get at least the sand and live rock into the tank before thanksgiving when the family shows up rather than having this big empty tank in the dining room. Any advice would be great!
Thanks,
Zero

Use about 240lbs of LR 4-6" DSB and LS.. Go berlin method no filter.. There is an article in the articles section...

HTH,
James

Do I have to go the 240 #'s all at once? that would be a minimum of 750 bucks worth of live rock... I was thinking about throwing in about 120 or so #'s as I had read at Dr's Forester and Smith's web site that the rock they use is lighter so only .75 to 1.25#'s per gallon was needed. Is this accurate? also, how many #'s of sand would one use for a DSB on a 120 gallon tank? I will go check out that article.

Zero