please help me get started...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

thing fish

Aquarium Advice Freak
i have been keeping fresh water tanks for about 10 years, but i have never kept a salt water tank. i recently started a part time job at a lfs. anyway, i want to build up my knowledge of salt water so i can give good advice.....and what better way to do that than start up a salt water tank of my own?

i have a few empty tanks that i could use...i have a 46 gallon bow, a 20 gallon high, and a 29 gallon. i will probably want to do some research and then get this tank started sometime in July.

would greatly appreciate ideas on which tank to use, as well as suggestions for essential items i will need. my experience has been solely with hob filters, so i want to go canister this time. also, stocking ideas would be great and anything else you care to chime in with. i will be researching this for a bit before i get started.

i figured the 46 would be the one. will have to look into sumps for it. may have to build something to house it so the cats don't eff with it. probably gonna end up buying what i need for it piece by piece.

i figured the 46 would be the one. will have to look into sumps for it. may have to build something to house it so the cats don't eff with it. probably gonna end up buying what i need for it piece by piece.

Build it under the stand with closed doors and a backing. Then the cats can't get in :)

Caleb

the stand i have has a small section doored off in the middle...only about 16 inches wide. will have to check out sumps and other options and consider other stands etc.

You could use the 29 as a sump. Actually that tank is rather narrow correct?

Hmm I would wait for petco to have the dollar per gallon sale and get one tank for a sump and use a spare (maybe the 20 high) to make baffles.

What do you want to keep.