Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-26-2014, 09:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
Protein skimmer not creating foam head

I have a sea life systems 75 protein skimmer on my 90 gallon fowlr tank with just two crabs when I run the skimmer plenty of bubbles rise and when I turn it off later there is dark scum on the neck. It only has created a foam head once and it just pulled out milky substance. Is there any reason why this is happening
__________________

__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
sounds like an adjustment issue. Have you adjusted the skimmer at all? You might need the foam to come up just a tiny bit more.
__________________

__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Stinky Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 112
How long have you been running it? Skimmers have a long break in period. Weeks long for some. What is in your tank exactly? 2 crabs or some fish and 2 crabs? How old is the tank? There might not be any organic material to skim
__________________
Stinky Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
As in more do you mean the level go down and more air in or raise the water level in the neck? I have tried a lot of adjustments how long should I leave it for it to create one
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
Just two crabs and I have been running it for a long time but I just shut it off because it wasn't doing anything and I ended the cycle idk a month ago? Maybe. around there
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Stinky Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 112
Ok so you just finished cycling and your about to stock the tank?
I'm pretty sure there's just nothing for it to skim. Until you get some fish and start feeding thus producing waste there's nothing for the skimmer to do.
__________________
Stinky Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:45 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
I had a firefish for a week would that make enough organics
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 10:03 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
I have a film on the top of my water and after an adjustment how long should I wait to see if a foam head creates
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 07:02 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
What i do is adjust it ever so slightly and leave it for an hour or two. If its not high enough then adjust it again and wait a few hours. Its tricky but can be done. You want the head of foam to "just" reach the top, over time the bubbles will spill over ever so slightly. Thasts why i said wait an hour or two between adjustments. Hope that helps
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 08:23 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
The skimmer has a water level in the middle of the neck Click image for larger version

Name:	1393503778038.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	92.9 KB
ID:	225008 don't know If you can see it but you want me to raise it all the way up to the collection cup?
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 09:07 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
Yep, it goes right up to the lip of the top of the tube that is in the cup itself. Hope you get what i am saying lol
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 09:32 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
Click image for larger version

Name:	1393507917711.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	100.9 KB
ID:	225012 so you are saying the bubbles are supposed to be the top red line? When the water level is at where it says the bubbles are about where the lower line is
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 09:44 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
If that top line is where the tube comes into the cup, then yes....You want the foam to come just about to the top of that tube inside the cup.
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 10:34 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
Oh... But then that closes the airline and almost no air bubbles are in the skimmer... I will get a picture when I get homeb
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 11:14 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tate View Post
Oh... But then that closes the airline and almost no air bubbles are in the skimmer... I will get a picture when I get homeb

She is referring to the water level in the skimmer not outside the skimmer. Different skimmers have different water depth requirements but typically it's around 10 inches. You need to ensure the skimmer is sitting in the proper depth of water. Then you need to tune the skimmer so your water level inside is where it says then the bubbles/foam will travel to the right height up the neck into the collection cup. Being that you have virtually no bioload you won't get much foam created until you increase the load. Once you have fish in the tank the foam will be a lot more and travel up the neck the way it is supposed to.
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 12:47 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
So should I raise the water in the sump or leave my skimmer off until I get a bigger bioload
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 01:43 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
if its a new skimmer, i wouldnt leave it off. even running it during low bioload times will help to break it in.
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 05:40 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
This is the highest the water level will go and there are no bubbles in the neck. I am confused on what you are saying
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 05:42 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
I adjusted it and I'm going to wait and break it in
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 06:29 PM   #20
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,245
Even with the skimmer breaking in, the water level should be higher than that it appears...there should be recommendations as to how much water the skimmer should sit in. You can find that online much easier. I'd look it up, report it, and then measure how much water it is sitting in. I've run into that issue before when I picked up a skimmer way too big for my system.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eat, eating, foam, protein, protein skimmer, rot, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protein Skimmer or No Protein Skimmer? Bettafanatic Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 05-24-2012 08:42 PM
asking about a protein skimmer and a power head honeysuckle11 Nano Reefs 11 05-15-2012 11:36 PM
new coralife 125 super skimmer not forming foam blazeyreef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-13-2007 01:28 AM
AquaC Protein Skimmers (Maximizing Foam Production) peterac General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-16-2005 04:54 PM
protein skimmer/power head advice mlatta Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-01-2002 02:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.