Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SW Beginner

Aquarium Advice Activist
An idiot question I know but one that needs to be asked. I am new to this hobby and starting out with a 55G SW tank. This question actually is in regards to a fish only aquarium. What type of filtration system would be best? In purchasing the aquarium and stand some equipment was included, such as a 402 powerhead. Originally the aquarium was used as a reef one. Would it be best to go with a filter such as a Penguin Biowheel 330 or one such as the Haygen Aquaclear 300? Fortunately I have not bought fish for the aquarium as of yet but probably will sometime after the 21st (figured it would be a good idea to wait a couple weeks from everything I've read thus far).

SW Beginner said:
An idiot question I know but one that needs to be asked. I am new to this hobby and starting out with a 55G SW tank.

This is a good size to start with :D

This question actually is in regards to a fish only aquarium. What type of filtration system would be best?

IMO, the best filter to use would be live sand and live rock. These will also serve a decorations, it will be more natural to your fish and reduce stress for them.
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=9
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=16
http://www.rshimek.com/reef/sediment.htm
If this isn't an attractive idea to you, I would recommend a wet/dry filter.

In purchasing the aquarium and stand some equipment was included, such as a 402 powerhead. Originally the aquarium was used as a reef one. Would it be best to go with a filter such as a Penguin Biowheel 330 or one such as the Haygen Aquaclear 300?

You can run a S/W aquarium with those filters, but you would need a couple of the 330s, I don't like them as much as a wet/dry, but they will work.