Ready for fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

angiorn

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi all, my 30 gallon half-moon sw tank is cycled and ready for fish. My largest live rock has at least 6 or 7 kenya tree sprouts on it. I know that I can only have a few fish. I am looking for opinions and suggestions for which fish and what order. I am an absolute beginner, so not too expensive. I really like the tribal blennie, not a fan of damsels and am considering true clowns so that someday I can add a frogspawn. I have Marineland led's, a Marineland canister tank 360, a Koralia powerhead 750 and a heater. I have 35lbs of live rock and 40 lbs of live sand. I don't have the specific testing #'s, the fish store tested for me and said I am ready to go. Added more live rock yesterday to bring total to 35, now waiting one more week to make sure all is stable. I figured I'd spend that week researching fish....so fire away! Thanks, Julie.

These are some of my favorite fish for a tank that size royal gramma, sixline wrasse, filament wrasse, midas blenny, tail spot blenny, clown goby, or firefish goby. Remember it isn't the size only you need to consider but the bio load my clown is a messy eater compared to my royal gamma so I consider the clown as a bigger bio load even if they are about the same size.

It is best to get your own test kits for ammonia, nitrates and nitrites so you can test anytime you feel the need. API makes a good liquid test.

I do have a kit that tests for ammonia, phosphates, nitrate and nitrate, calcium. Need one for ph, tho. Just haven't put them to use yet...didn't see the need until there were some fish. Is the max number of fish really between 3 and 5? My ideal list would be the tribal blenny, 2 clowns and a school of chromis...not sure how many?