Recommendations for Nano Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

percula

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all,

So I'm planning on setting up a very small tank. It will contain (or I'm planning on it containing) 2 True Perc Clownfish, a bit of LR, a couple inverts, and maybe a Xenia.

Are there any pre-made "kits" that you think would work well, or am I just better off buying a 29 gallon and building a setup from scratch?

Thanks in advance!

Percula, Half the fun of this hobby is starting from scratch. Im relatively new at this as well and the best part of it all was learning things step by step and doing it myself. Not a "kit"

Im sure theres something out there but most likely over priced and not exactly what you need. Im sure the mod gods will chime in more after with exacts but read up around here and start it yourself.

It gets expensive and takes time so be patient, thats key.

WELCOME TO AA!!!

Please do not cycle your tank with live animals.

Personally, those "kits" aren't that great. I belive it is best to start from scratch. The kits sometimes have onder par equipment (in SW, it is best not to skimp on certain pieces of equipment). Doing it yourself is a better way, plus you get to shop around and will find all kinds of neat stuff.

Be carefull if you do get a "KIT" a lot of them are proprietary, if anything goes you have to get it from the manufacture. Not good if you need a fix NOW and have to wait 3 to 6 weeks for delivery of the part.

roka64 - Please do not cycle your tank with live animals.

Roka64 is refering to useing a Raw unseasoned shrip to cycle your tank vs tossing in a fish and haveing it die. Not sure where to find the link off hand.
Sorry Roka im tossing you under the bus. I'm sure roka64 just forgot to post the link :)