Reef Ready

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

solo

Aquarium Advice Activist
HI how many of you has reef ready tank? And do you like it. Also can I buy all equipment one time for reef setup and just start with fwlr. I want all popular equipment, I had once thought off using canister filter for reef setup but here nitrate issue, anyone used them for a reef? Comments suggestions advice will be appreciated thank you in advance.

I am no expert... But... I've been down the road for the last year trying to go the "Cheaper" route. I bought a 30g. tank with a HOB AquaClear 70 filter, live rocks, live sand, and fish. Long story short, don't do it. And I would NEVER want to discourage you from going with the canister filter for a small tank. You can do that but your tank will never thrive. Been there done it, BUT!!!

2 nights ago I bought a New 65g. Deep Blue Pro, Reef ready tank and before that I ordered a Trigger Systems 30s sump. The setup cost me right at 400.00. That's tank and sump. I still probably like about 200.00 to get the hardware and plumbing... So 600.00 for a new sump and tank... If you go used then you can cut that price in half, 300.00... The initial setup is expensive for a Reef Ready Setup. But I really encourage you to consider #1, get the biggest tank you can afford/fit. #2 Save some money and go with a tank-sump-skimmer setup. You will save hundreds in the long run. I promise. I've wasted 500.00+ on my 30g instead of doing things the right way. But hey! Like I always say, it's up to you! :)