Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-18-2014, 03:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Refugium

So ive always had this problem where when i buy cheato and put it in it ends up dieong off i just bought some more and its starting to die off again, running 1 6500k cfl bulb, should i run 2?? Are my nutrients that low? I doubt it, and i did run opposite from tank but now im running 24/7 and still have problem, any help would be appreciated thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Gavinpop1235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 39
Did you check your ammonia levels or nitrate levels are they being feed properly
__________________

__________________
Gavinpop1235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
They're at zero


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:09 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Atleast thats what its coming up on the test kits


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:38 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
It might be that the nutrients are that low...or that there is other algae in the system simply out competing it. I've read about some thinking it has something to do with the alk level too, though not quite sure about that statement.
I've never been successful at keeping cheato to export my nutrients. I'm just letting the algae that is an issue in the display grow in the refugium to export nutrients instead.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
So i just went and bought 2 brand new clamp ons and everything and im going to set them up to run 24/7 for now. If this doese t work idk what will. Im going to give up on chaeto if this doesnt work, and other macros i can try?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:01 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1413673270.340221.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	232.4 KB
ID:	253364

2 brand new, hope this works,


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:31 PM   #8
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
There are tons of macros that you can use. It's up to you what you use.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 05:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1414011227.785850.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	199.3 KB
ID:	253717so its dieing off again, could it be that my phosphate levels are that low? I dont have any algae in my tank whats so ever but wanted to put the chaeto just in case there was any nutrients that it would suck up


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 06:10 PM   #10
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Could be that low or that the bottom not getting any light could be the reason...at least what I'd lean towards.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 07:08 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Some tanks just can't grow chaeto. It's an unexplained phenomenon. I wouldn't worry about it. BTW, running the light 24/7 for chaeto is a waste. 10-12 hours is plenty. I would try some caulerpa. Any kind will do, and this is the stuff you can run 24/7 and it may benefit you.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 07:35 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Yes but what about the rumors of it going a sexual and destroying your tank?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:30 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
And i have 2 clamp on cfls so theres no way its not getting enough light


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 02:18 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ga1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 283
Flow is my trick
__________________
Ga1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 08:11 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
There are no rumors about chaeto going sexual and destroying your tank, because it doesn't. Caulerpa can do this though, which is why I mentioned it may be worth while doing the 24 hour photo period if you change to it. As for caulerpa ruining your tank, I've had an occurrence at one point and it didn't kill a single thing, just clouded the tank a little.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 01:02 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ga1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 283
+ 1 mr_X
The light have something to do with it, but I hear that the Cheato doesnot need too much light.
just to let you know I got a cpr hob fuge.
I was using a little led and got a little growing nothing crazy, a couple of months ago my Cheato start dying, I don't know if was the phosban reactor just installed or the flow too low....so I got some led bulbs on sale 5,000 k and that clip on like the picture above, change the pump to a maxi jet 600 (double the flow I use to have)and my Cheato is growing like crazy that I be able to sell it now....
__________________
Ga1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 01:29 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
I have a mag 24 circulating my tank so i think i have plenty of flow? Could it be that im running light too much? Should i take out the dead chaeto and run it on a timer? And i know chaeto doesn't go a sexual but i heard of chalerpa going a sexual


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 01:42 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ga1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 283
Yes you should cut the dead Cheato off and dispose, as the lights I use to run 24/7, now I run opposite than my main tank for ph purpose, I also have Cheato inside my biocube with no prob
__________________
Ga1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 01:43 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ga1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 283
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1414082584.164275.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	197.2 KB
ID:	253822
My hob in main tank
__________________
Ga1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 01:44 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ga1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 283
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1414082668.897555.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	198.6 KB
ID:	253823
Biocube
__________________

__________________
Ga1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refugium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOB refugium or sump/refugium Smarkalan83 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 01-18-2013 04:18 AM
Saltwater Refugium or Non-Refugium Sump eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 02-08-2010 10:55 PM
Design for Sump/Refugium Ausie Fish DIY Projects 6 12-07-2003 10:57 PM
Hang on back refugium+ loganj DIY Projects 15 11-28-2002 01:09 AM
Refugium Critter Bang Guy Saltwater & Reef - Identification 5 08-20-2002 03:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.