Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-31-2015, 11:58 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
joshpwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 304
Ro/di

I have decided my next investment will be an ro/di unit. What recommendations are out the. I know nothing at all about them. I will just be using for a fowlr. I don't want to break the bank either

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
125 Gal Fresh Water
75 Gal Saltwater FOWLR
joshpwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 02:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
Bulk reef supply has value units for a decent price.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 03:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
joshpwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 304
I see there are different stage units what is the difference? Which ones would work best for a fowlr tank

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
125 Gal Fresh Water
75 Gal Saltwater FOWLR
joshpwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 08:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
As long as you have carbon, sediment, reverse osmosis, and Di you'll be good. It really makes no difference in fowlr and a reef you still need 0 tds

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 08:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
joshpwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 304
Tds?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
125 Gal Fresh Water
75 Gal Saltwater FOWLR
joshpwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 09:19 PM   #6
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshpwolf View Post
Tds?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Total dissolved solids.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 10:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
joshpwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 304
When I purchase my unit I want to keep in on my basement. I'm going to pump it up stairs. My question is am I able to use a garden hose? Are there any chemicals in the hose that will harm my tank?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
125 Gal Fresh Water
75 Gal Saltwater FOWLR
joshpwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 10:22 PM   #8
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
It should be fine to use a garden hose. You can also buy clear flexible tubing by the foot at home depot/etc. that is fairly economical.

I second the Bulk Reef Supply units. Their 5 stage system is economical and works very well. I have owned one for a few years and besides some filter changes, it has been maintenance and leak free. I make 10-20 gallons a week with it.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 10:31 PM   #9
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,251
BRS units are great. A word of advice, get a unit that has a TDS meter on it and a pressure release if you can. There have been times where it has been a huge struggle to get the cylinders off to change out filters because of the pressure built up.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 10:34 PM   #10
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
The BRS 5 stage deluxe comes with a TDS meter which is definitely handy. I don't have a pressure release on my unit, and I will agree that sometimes the cylinders take some elbow grease to get loose, but never had one that was too bad I guess.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 04:40 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nevada
Posts: 320
I purchased the 4 stage rodi universal unit plus a faucet kit for drinking water for less than 300 from BRS. They told me that 4 stage works for 90% of people and I got 10 % off. I can't wait to start using it.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Criptix
2.5 gallon home of Gillbert the Crowntail Betta
40g breeder awaiting fish
Criptix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 08:40 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
This is the one I have. I have since turned it into a 150gpd system, but it's basically the same unit-
BRS 4 Stage Value Plus RO/DI System - 75GPD - Bulk Reef Supply
I have no complaints.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:18 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
What does the 4 stage, 5 stage and 6 stage even do? Are Aquatic life units good? They are pretty cheap.

The coarlife ones my LFS sells are kind of spendy.

Do you always need a pump?
__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:42 PM   #14
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
You need a pump if your water pressure is under about 70psi.

The stages filter the water. The more stages with the right filters and order of filters the less quickly your DI resin is consumed and the longer it will last between changes. Also if your local water supply contains chloramines you will need a specific filter for that.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 07:15 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by fort384 View Post
You need a pump if your water pressure is under about 70psi.

The stages filter the water. The more stages with the right filters and order of filters the less quickly your DI resin is consumed and the longer it will last between changes. Also if your local water supply contains chloramines you will need a specific filter for that.
I'm going to go out on a limb here and say mine does.

Does it madder if hard or soft water goes in?
__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 07:43 PM   #16
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
You should be able to lookup your local water and see if it contains chloramines. A lot of municipalities don't use it.

The harder the water the more frequently you'll have to change your filters.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 09:35 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by fort384 View Post
You should be able to lookup your local water and see if it contains chloramines. A lot of municipalities don't use it.

The harder the water the more frequently you'll have to change your filters.
I mean like softener salt "soft" water, would that be better and make stuff last longer? Usually I use water from the upstairs sink because I figured fish need the minerals and stuff, but if its being RO/Di's to pure H20 I could use the water from the downstairs bathroom.
__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 09:42 PM   #18
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
It isn't going to make much of a difference for your RODI system. Whether the system is pulling out exchanged Ca ions from the water softener, or pulling our the original ions, either way you will end up with TDS of 0 in a properly functioning system, and both will consume DI resin at about the same rate.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rodi

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.