Saltwater newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dgso1036

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey everyone. I'm new to saltwater and wanted to start a topic so I could get everyone's input. My plan was to do a fish only tank, but after seeing everyone's tanks with coral I think that's what I want to do. I started a 20 gal tank around 3 days ago. I have 20 lbs live rock and 20 lbs live sand. The equipment I have now is a HOB aqua clear 50 filter, heater, aqueon 700 powerhead, and a T8 fluorescent light. My plan is to do soft corals and at least 2 clownfish for the kids. I'm open to suggestions for everything else. Also what else do I need for the corals? The tank is cycling so I have time to figure it out before getting livestock.

Here is a pic of my tank so far.

Attachments

• ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1398767205.463754.jpg
    ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1398767205.463754.jpg
    228.6 KB · Views: 120
Looking good, I'd add a skimmer to the set up, and stick with only two clowns, they get territorial, esp in smaller settings

Sent from my Z750C using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I've been thinking about a skimmer. What size would be good?

On the rock It's not touching the glass case I wanted room to clean the glass

x2 on the rock location, is it against the glass? also i would go with at least 30lbs of rock for a reef, you can get smaller "filler" sized rock to fill in the gaps on the rocks to hide the seams in the larger rocks to make it look more natural and also add a few more pounds of rock to your tank without adding a huge chunk on top making the scape look odd.

you can also get a small skimmer for your tank like the aquaticlife 115 i ran that one on my 29g bedroom reef tank and had great success with it so on a 20g it should do even better, it pulled consistent dark skimmate and my water parameters were always spot on.