Saltwater on the Brain........

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

williamsaj1210

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Well I ended up buying a Aquapod 24 for $10 at a yard sale. Figuring it wasnt much of a risk I got it and it is now sitting in my living room floor. It holds water with no leaks and the filter works as well as one fan. The blue and purple lights need replacing and I'm thinking of replacing the white one too. Now I need to replace the splash cover and install a second fan but that's all I need to get it in stock shape.
Now I'm new to saltwater as it gets but I did a lot of reading. I do want corals and fish but being the best lights without over heating this small tank. Any suggestions on lights? I'm debating LED moonlights too.
Also other then a heater, what other stuff should I mod this tank with? Do I really need a sump with such a small tank? Protien skimmers worth it?
I'm not looking into rushing this tank. I want to savor the building but I want to get it as close to perfect as I can. :) should I put a media filter basket in it like I've seen some on this site? What should I put in it?
I plan on putting in live rock and some sand very soon. I have a buddy who has a healthy saltwonder reef tank who will give me a bit of his sand to seed the tank. Anything I'm forgetting that I should consider? Definately tell me. I plan to post many pics of it as soon as I get the ball rolling. Thanks for helping me and read my questions that broader line rambling.