setting up a 30 gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

minpin

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey I'm completely new to salt water aquariums. i read the articles in the articles part of this page.....it helped alittle to understand what to do but didn't really answer all my questions. so any help would be great.
first off I'm just going to be doing a little 29 gallon tank.
1.. the tank is already established for fresh water would it be possible to just add instant ocean to it....

1. a. if i could do that could i just take out he existing rocks on the bottom and add new substrate..

2. what to use for substrate at the bottom of my tank.. should i use live sand or what.

3. what is the difference between cure live rock and live rock.

4. do i need a protein skimmer.

5. do i have to have additives for the water like the stuff from Kent marine that has trace elements in it.

6. how many fish can i have in a tank this size and keep the water healthy.. or is that really dependent on the types of fish and whatnot.

really i guess what I'm looking for is a guide from start to finish on how to establish a salt water tank. thanks