Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-06-2018, 05:52 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Right now would just be fish. Maybe in a year or two i would like to do coral but not sure if it will actually happen
__________________

__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 06:04 PM   #22
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Fish only systems lighting doesn't matter. It is up to you and what pleases your eye. The fish could careless.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 11:21 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
So Im hoping to fill the tank with water this weekend. My question is how do o know how much the drainage flow and return pump power will i have to run? Is it a play around with until you get a consistent water level in the sump?
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 01:45 AM   #24
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
As long as the GPH are similar, with the return pump being higher, you can use the gate valve to cut down the flow coming out of the return until they match.
If the overflow out performs the pump, water will enter the sump until water doesn't reach the baffles.
If the pump out performs the overflow, water will be emptied from the return section until water no longer reaches the intake on the pump.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 07:20 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 6,929
I would use a 30 long before a 29..You need footprint for sumps not depth...
What pump are you going to use ?
A ball valve is a good idea to be used but hopefully won't be needed .
I use the Jeboa DC pumps that are digitally controlled so I can slow the flow and save electricity if I need or want to.
To start up fill the tank till it overflows into sump. Let the sump become filled to about 2 inches from the top .
Then turn sump on.After a couple minutes of running take a marker or tape and mark the level the sumps water is at[while running].This is THE MAX FILL LINE for the sump while running.This will prevent the sump from being to full and overflowing in the event of a power failure..Return pump lines should not be submerged in the water or they may syphon back more water then the sump will handle [overflow]....Make sure they can catch air and break syphon by shutting pump off a couple times..
Some drill a small[1/8"] hole on the inside of the elbow on the return pipe and that works for them..
__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/aucti...er&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 09:02 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
So i got my sump kit and was wondering if i had to use the drain plate it can i just run the pipes in the sump to the filter socks?Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1515805321.914039.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	211.9 KB
ID:	306212
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 10:04 AM   #27
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Yeah. I run my pipes right into my filter socks. Just have to make sure it wont cause any issues with the socks getting clogged up.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 02:59 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Okay good. Would it be okay if i put a sailfin and a clown in a 10 gallon for about 6 hours? I want to take the rock and most of the water out of my current tank and setup the new tank before o add fish
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 04:39 PM   #29
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Theyd be fine as long as the end home is large enough.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 05:31 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Okay just wasnt sure if moving them twice within a day will be horrible for them
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 12:21 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
eatsomepopcorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 278
Skimmer never has to come out.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
eatsomepopcorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 07:27 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
So i have abojt 3/4 if inch of sand in the tank. I order a 40 pound bag and wont be here till Wednesday. Im off the next two days so i was thinking might be my best time to do the rockscape snd add the fish and then Wednesday i can slowing add more sand through a pipe or i heard a sandwich bag slowly
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 07:28 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Will this work?
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 07:44 PM   #34
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
I prefer using pvc pipe to add additional sand.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 07:48 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
So i guess it will be better to add rock and i can do fish then slowly do more sand eventually.
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 01:24 PM   #36
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
It is best to add rock then sand so that lessens any issues with the rock settling and preventing any possible collapse into the glass.
I don't recall how much/what all is in there now, but you want the 1lbs per gallon rule in effect prior to adding fish. This not only will provide the beneficial bacteria living area, but it will also assist the fish with establishing their safe areas/territories.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 01:29 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Im. Going to have about 100 pounds of rock. Im adding my filter from my established tank so the bacteria will help.
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 07:47 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Finally got my tank and sump all setup. I turned the pump on and for some reason the water only returns the one side and not the other. Is there something i should be looking for or has anyone else ever had this problem?
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 10:51 PM   #39
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
If the pump ya higher gph than the overflow, then youll empty your return section into the display. Youll need to install a gate valve after the return pump to cut back on the flow leaving the pump
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 10:57 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
I have gate values on both drain pipes and both return pipes.inguess i will see if i turn the one side pretty much off and the other open if it helps
__________________

__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
size, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minimum tank size size for blue ram calfishguy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 04-10-2012 11:19 AM
sump size? pump size? Silent Night General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 19 07-20-2010 01:40 PM
Size of PVC piping in relation to size of pump connections chase33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 02-19-2007 05:17 AM
Help! Odd size tank needs odd size hood NewFishFella General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 08-31-2006 11:24 AM
What size refugium per size tank? doughboydj Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-15-2004 10:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.