Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-28-2017, 12:16 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Size sump

Hello i just bought a 125 gallon tank with overflow. I am trying to figure out what size sump is okay with the room i have. I can get a 55 gallon under it and i will be able to empty the cup on my skimmer still. I was wondering how often the skimmer has to come out of the sump cause it will be difficult with the room i have
__________________

__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 03:35 AM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
The best sized sump is the largest you can fit. More water in the system = better. Dilution is the solution to most of our problems in this hobby.
As for the skimmer, it isn't often that you should have to take the entire thing out. As long as you have enough room to remove the collection cup to empty it and clean the cup/neck on occassion you'll be fine.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:47 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Ask unfortunately after trying a 55 gallon wonít fit under my stand. Looks like a 29 is my choice
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 01:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
So i night my tank itís a 125 with corner overflows. It has a return pipe and drainage in each. The pipes that cane with the tank is 1 1/2 i was wondering what size piping i can use? Can i go with 3/4 or should i try to stay at 1inch
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 04:28 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
I always think the bigger the better. If it was set up for 1.5, I'd stick with it.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 04:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Alright so i probably have to go with pvc pipe instead of the flexible stuff. Do you think if i wanted to i could go down to 1 or 3/4 and still be oksy?
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 04:37 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 53
I made my stand to use a 55g as a sump. I have heard bigger is better. Do you plan on a refugium? If so than will need bigger than a 29g.
__________________
Bulldog39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 04:46 PM   #8
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by dromo2189 View Post
Alright so i probably have to go with pvc pipe instead of the flexible stuff. Do you think if i wanted to i could go down to 1 or 3/4 and still be oksy?
You could go down to 1. I wouldn't go any smaller than that.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 11:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1514863500.024743.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	168.8 KB
ID:	305926
Not sure if you can understand my drawing lol but would something like this work? Have a ball value on every line
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 07:20 AM   #10
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Is the system already drilled for that many overflows? Iíd simply have one return line.
Other than that, looks fine.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 10:44 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Yeah the tank came predrilled with 2 return and 2 drainage
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 02:42 PM   #12
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Understood. A simple split will reduce flow, so hopefully you won't have to use the ball valve too much.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 12:25 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Another question. How do you move the live rock in my current tank to my new tank? Like will the fish be fine with no hiding spots for a day or how do i get that rock over
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 02:28 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by dromo2189 View Post
Another question. How do you move the live rock in my current tank to my new tank? Like will the fish be fine with no hiding spots for a day or how do i get that rock over


Iím no expert but I recently moved live rock too and the most important thing to remember is that itís ALIVE so it will constantly need oxygen and saltwater the way I moved mine was I used a 10gal bucket filled it with saltwater and then put an airline in there to oxygen in then I put live rock in and it lived in that bucket for a day or so as I got the new tank fully etablished and didnít seem to have any problems as far as the fish they should b fine without having hiding spots for a few days but I would prioritize getting more live rock so they donít get too stressed
__________________
nooboftanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 04:16 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Yeah i was hoping to setup my new tank then add some new dry rock and live rock and then add the old live rock i had. I just wasnít sure if the fish were okay with no hiding spots
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 05:39 PM   #16
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
I did water changes and used old tank water to transport my stuff across town when I moved.
If it was in the same house, Iíd use old tank water to dunk the rock to get any gunk off and just put it in the new system.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 06:11 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
Will the fish be okay for a day without hiding spots? I want to get the new rock and old stuff landscaped perfect. Yeah Iím only going to one room to another in the house
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 09:17 AM   #18
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
No, it needs somewhere to feel safe.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 05:13 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 248
So let me ask i found a basic 72 inch t5 unit with extra bulbs for 50. Online i found a 72 inch led blue and white bulb for 60. Which one am i better off with?
__________________
dromo2189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 05:47 PM   #20
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
What are you trying to accomplish with the light? If you want to keep corals I wouldn't choose either of those.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
size, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minimum tank size size for blue ram calfishguy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 04-10-2012 11:19 AM
sump size? pump size? Silent Night General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 19 07-20-2010 01:40 PM
Size of PVC piping in relation to size of pump connections chase33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 02-19-2007 05:17 AM
Help! Odd size tank needs odd size hood NewFishFella General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 08-31-2006 11:24 AM
What size refugium per size tank? doughboydj Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-15-2004 10:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.