Snow in Tank??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pioneer27

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello - I'm a rank beginner with aquariums, so I appreciate the expert advice. My setup is a Nanocube 24G with 24lbs of liverock and 24lbs of livesand - currently have 3 fish (and about 6 snails): Tomato Clown, Foxface Rabbitfish, and a Damsel. My problem is that after letting the tank cycle for about a month, I started noticing some white "dots" in the tank. After doing a 25% partial water change, it was still there, and it was in the filter when I took it out and cleaned it. When you look in the tank normally, some of it is swirling around, but it gets bad anytime you agitate water near the bottom. The best way I can describe it is that it looks like those decoration water toys you shake up and it looks like snow. At this point, I'm not sure how to rid myself of it - any help would be greatly appreciated!

Doug

maybe you have REALLY hard water and your salt mix precipitates out of solution? just a guess. What does your SG read? Do you get alot of fluctuations in your SG? What about dissolved calcium levels? If those get really high you would get some to precipitate out. Add anything new to the tank? Maybe your sand is really fine and gets stirred up easily? These are all the questions I can think of.

You might want to take to your LFS a water sample and let them test it for you if you don't already have some tests. Specifically you need to test for ALK and calcium. Have you been dosing any additives? If you have, then this might be the problem, if not then like scottm said you might have really hard water.
Are you using RO/DI water to fill and top off your tank?
Well let us know more of your water parameters to better understand your situation.