Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-22-2014, 10:40 AM   #41
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Trying to find space for a brute can, and what just use a float valve? Then should i have 2 canisters?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:42 AM   #42
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
what do you mean. why do you need a float valve for water changes?

use a brute trash bin to store water. when you do the water change, siphon or pump water out of the aquarium into a drain or separate bucket. then pump pre mixed salt water from the brute trash bin to the tank.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:43 AM   #43
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Well float valve to keep it full all the time? And dont i need one salt and one fresh water?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:45 AM   #44
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
well we were talking about water changes. you don't want to top off with the saltwater though? look into auto top off systems for what your talking about


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:46 AM   #45
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
I have a auto top off but id need a place to store freshwater to then? Right? Or just have a saltwater batch and make fresh as i need it as i do now?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:47 AM   #46
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
if you have an ATO then you must have a holding container for the fresh water or it's not ATO.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:49 AM   #47
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Yes but its under my tank and i fill it up everytime its empty, i dont have a brute can or something that holds a bunch of gallons of ro water


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:50 AM   #48
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
well just keep that fill. the brute bin is usually used to hold saltwater


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 10:51 AM   #49
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1413985860.893958.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	210.7 KB
ID:	253694thats what i have for auto top off its about 5-6 gallons


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 11:33 AM   #50
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I would suggest having two cans, as you said: one for salted water and the other fresh. This way if you have a mishap or want to do a water change just for the heck of it, you are ready to go, and don't have to wait for the R.O. to make 20-30 gallons of water.
As far as the ratio of water changes, you are using oceanic salt as stated- notoriously low on alk. (I don't ever get a reading of 8 btw) So even if your in tank alk is used up and at a dangerous level, and you do a 50% water change, it's not going to return it to 8.
Get a salifert alkalinity kit. they are easy to use and a lot more accurate than API. Test every couple days for a couple weeks and then you'll know how your alk fluctuates.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 12:30 PM   #51
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Where can i get one of those test kits? I dont think my lfs sells those


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 12:34 PM   #52
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bosnianblood69 View Post
Where can i get one of those test kits? I dont think my lfs sells those


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
many online stores, bulkreefsupply.com should have them
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 03:59 PM   #53
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
So if i got the magnesium, Alk, and Cal test kits from BRS they come out to $80. Is it worth it? any other good ones? also any suggestions on salt brands that are good or most stable or like have best levels? thinking of switching from oceanic since it has high cal and lower alk
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 04:01 PM   #54
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
What about red sea test kits? I think my lfs carriers those and would test using those if asked
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 05:06 PM   #55
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You don't need mag and calcium IMO. Just get the alk kit. You don't have enough coral to use up calcium or mag. Salifert test kits are 10 times better than API. I'm not a fan of red sea kits, but some like them.
IMO, don't switch from Oceanic. It's a fine salt. The only thing is the alk. Other salts have their issues. None of them are totally awesome ....at least not lately. Years ago I used to run large coral tanks on just water changes, but it seems like that's a thing of the past.
No way around good quality test kits any more
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 05:16 PM   #56
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Well what would you say is the best and most accurate test kit? If im going to buy it might as well buy the best. Learned the hard way that buying cheap in this hobby is bad, from deaths to redoing my whole tank


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 05:25 PM   #57
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I like Salifert. I used to mention Elos kits, until I visited the Elos store in jersey, and saw them using Salifert test kits on their tanks...lol.
Those Hanna Checkers are supposed to be good-
Hanna Checker - Bulk Reef Supply
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 05:52 PM   #58
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
I was thinking of the henna checkers for a long time bit wasnt sure how good they are


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 05:53 PM   #59
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Also made a DIY frag rack, how do i know if i should go up or down with them?Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1414011181.472727.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	203.1 KB
ID:	253715Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1414011196.570467.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	169.0 KB
ID:	253716


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 06:50 PM   #60
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
So if i wanted to clear up my water more would it be better to run my carbon in a reactor? I have it by my socks right now in a bag, but i only have one reactor and it running gfo, should i take out the gfo and run my tank gfo less for now? And also did my first 5 gallon water change today


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dosing, sps

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple Dosing for a SPS tank Jimbo7 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-16-2010 11:56 AM
New SPS, labeled as M. Digitata but I have doubts. d9hp New Acquisitions 11 07-07-2003 09:02 PM
SPS & CLAMS under VHOs MINIATUS Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-18-2003 07:42 PM
hard corals and sps kribbz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-16-2003 12:55 PM
Another SPS ID.... reefrunner69 Saltwater & Reef - Identification 3 11-05-2002 01:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.