Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-20-2014, 03:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Starting a sw aquarium?

I'm wanting to make a sw aquarium out of my 30 gallon. I've done some reasearch, I'm not going to do a sump. Since it'll be fish and live rock I'm just going to use the lighting I have now. Could I use the filter from the fw (dual filter, biowheel rated for 60-80g). So basically my question is, do I just need to get a skimmer and a powerhead now?
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 03:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
Also, do I need live sand if I'm going to be using live rock? Could I set it up as fw (put the sand in, start the filters) an just let it run until I decide what to do (adding salt, live rock, and the powerhead and skimmer later).
__________________

__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 07:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Starting a sw aquarium?

You don't need live sand it will become "live" as your bb builds up. I would not add the water and sand first then salt later though. You should make up your salt water and let it mix for 24 hours or so before adding it to your tank. It will be easier to get your salinity where you want it outside of the tank where you can easily add more water should your salinity be to high. I use big plastic blue storage crates (think there brutes but don't remember) they were like 10 bucks at walmart I believe
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 07:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
So just using the play sand or pool filter sand would be okay? That's what I'm using in my fw tank. Is cycling the salt water the same as fresh water? Can I have live rock when the tank isn't cycled yet?
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 07:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
As to the first post yes you can use that filter I would not run the bio pellets though that's more for fw. Run the filter without any media for your cycle and you will probably want to pick up 2 power heads one for the tank and a second cheap one for mixing wc water. A skimmer isn't necessary but they are nice to have. There are many good hob skimmers out there if you want less stuff in the display
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 07:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
I wouldn't use play sand I believe that will lead to bad algae problems. Not sure about pool filter sand but reef sand is like $25 for a 30 lbs bag so i would go that route if it were my tank. Yes you can add LR it will usually speed up your cycle a little bit
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 07:35 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
So would 1 pound per gallon be good for reef sand? (I know. Lots of questions, but I want to be fully prepared before starting this adventure!)
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 07:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Really it depends on how want it to look. If you like the shallow look 1lbs / gal should be fine. I personally like the look that about 1.5lbs per gal gives me ( about 2 in deep average)
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 08:13 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 37
I've used play sand before without any issues. Some people have have worse results.
__________________
GouldFever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 02:06 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 132
I used reef sand and havent had any probs. have u considered livestock yet?
Remember , to cycle, use a peice of shrimp that u get at the supermarket seafood counter. Dont use a live fish.
__________________
J8kpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 01:41 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chevypride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 333
I haven't considered any fish yet. I don't know very many sw fish, maybe some suggestions? I'd want something pretty easy to care for, and colourful. Ball park how many fish could I have?
__________________
chevypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 05:26 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: sudbuy on
Posts: 35
Im doing the same thing as you right now just starting my first sw(30 gallon hob filter ..... ect) I think im just going to go with a pair of clowns small tanks your kinda limited to the fish you can put in your tank..... myself I just go to my local sw fish store and look at the fish and ask. And I also have a question how long should the shrimp stay in the tank?????

Sent from my SM-T210R using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
bigblue08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 07:14 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Leave the shrimp in until it's mostly gone put it in a nylon stocking so you can remove the goo easier Here's a good site for stocking info Aquarium Fish: Tropical Freshwater Fish and Saltwater Fish for Home Aquariums
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 08:42 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 132
When the nitrate spikes, that means the cycle is over. Then i would take it out. Whatever you do, talk to us and the fish store. As sad as it is, most lfs will sell u a fish that doesnt belong in a 30 gallon, just to get a sale. We, arent trying to sell u stuff, we want u to be sucessfull. What type of clownfish are you looking at? Other fish options are kauderns cardinals, firefish and royal gramma. Any other questions, just ask?
__________________
J8kpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 09:22 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: sudbuy on
Posts: 35
Im looking at ocellaris clownfish and I really wish I would of knowen about the sock for the shimp lol mines been in for 5 days now should I think qbout taking it out now?

Sent from my SM-T210R using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
bigblue08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 09:26 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 132
Test your water, and tell us the results. We can tell u where u r in the cycle. Usually, the cycle takes abt a month.
__________________
J8kpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:17 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: sudbuy on
Posts: 35
My ammonia is still like 3 or a 4 and ph is 8ish

Sent from my SM-T210R using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
bigblue08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:21 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 132
Ok. You are stlii in the beginning phase, so keep the shrimp i for a while
__________________
J8kpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:34 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: sudbuy on
Posts: 35
Yah thats what I though have you ever used the bio pronto marine? ???

Sent from my SM-T210R using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
bigblue08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 02:38 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 132
Nope. Btw, i have a 100 gallon that had to be cycled 2wice, because i had to move. So if u have any qs on cycling let me know!
__________________

__________________
J8kpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium, star, start, starting, sw aquarium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting our new community aquarium Alreadyaddicted New Acquisitions 7 07-01-2013 02:54 PM
Rearranged my aquarium and made a "tree" wildroseofky Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 04-24-2013 03:58 PM
EcoTech Radion XR30W LED Aquarium Light Fixture AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 5 12-10-2011 09:22 AM
New to Aquarium Advice TAbilez Member Introductions 5 09-26-2011 08:41 PM
Aquarium start up supplies/cycling questions cyberkat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-09-2011 10:42 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.