Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-06-2014, 08:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 33
Starting first cycle need help

Just started my first saltwater tank has 4 pounds of live rock and around 5.5 pounds of dry rock and started my cycle last night around 7 PM tossed in a shrimp and checked my water right before with a Ph of 8.2 and Ammonia, nitrites and nitrates at 0 and my salinity at 1.025,I checked my water today at 4 PM with a jump in ammonia and can see some nitrites rising, but my Ph has dropped, is this a "normal" part of the cycle? How is my cycle going so far? I've been reading as much as i can but would appreciate any input given, Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	230.9 KB
ID:	226263   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 2.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	246.3 KB
ID:	226264  

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 3.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	228.7 KB
ID:	226265   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 4.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	155.1 KB
ID:	226266  

__________________

__________________
Schwebel
Schwebel7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 08:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bsnow0410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
Hey man I'm new to this as well I'm a week in on my cycle and I had the same thing and asked the same question. Everybody told me don't worry about the ph until the cycles over. I've been testing once a day and haven't tested the ph since the first day after somebody told me that.
__________________

__________________
Bsnow0410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DIZZLE808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 290
Ph levels can swing a little at different times of the day...off the top of my head I can't remember why, but as long as it's not a big swing in numbers you'll be fine
__________________
DIZZLE808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Are you only running white light? Why is your water level so low?
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macscale View Post
Are you only running white light? Why is your water level so low?
Yea but i will be buying new bulbs before i get any stock, and water is a bit low so the filter can agitate the water more and get more flow as the powerhead im using isnt that good and needs to be replaced before i stock but should be fine while the tank cycles
__________________
Schwebel
Schwebel7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Alright that makes a lot more sense!
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 03:25 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 33
Its the third day of the cycle and i tested showing 8.0ppm of ammonia, 1.0ppm of nitrites and 20ppm of Nitrates. Should i leave the Shrimp in? This cycle seems to be going preety quick!
__________________
Schwebel
Schwebel7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 04:21 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DIZZLE808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 290
Up to you really. When I cycled my 30g I just left the shrimp in until the cycle was complete, I have read that others have taken the shrimp out though.
__________________
DIZZLE808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 08:51 AM   #9
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,257
Don't worry about your pH while the cycle is going on. Just turn the lights off and watch the ammonia and nitrite levels. With the shrimp method, once your ammonia and nitrite hit 0, do a water change to get your nitrate levels down and remove the shrimp. See how your pH is then.
Too be honest, pH is something that people really end up getting worked up about and start using chemicals to chase 'the perfect pH' level. I fell into the same trap on my first tank here several years ago. Just because it is saltwater your pH level won't go outside of a certain level unless you cause it too with adding chemicals. As long as you keep up with your water changes, take things slowly, and act in a calm manner towards anything that happens in your tank you'll be fine. The pH in my tank almost always reads 7, it shouldn't, but there it is. I can't explain it at all, but I'm able to run a successful mixed reef on it. When I was chasing the pH level, my coral suffered and it showed.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 09:22 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Don't worry about your pH while the cycle is going on. Just turn the lights off and watch the ammonia and nitrite levels. With the shrimp method, once your ammonia and nitrite hit 0, do a water change to get your nitrate levels down and remove the shrimp. See how your pH is then.
Too be honest, pH is something that people really end up getting worked up about and start using chemicals to chase 'the perfect pH' level. I fell into the same trap on my first tank here several years ago. Just because it is saltwater your pH level won't go outside of a certain level unless you cause it too with adding chemicals. As long as you keep up with your water changes, take things slowly, and act in a calm manner towards anything that happens in your tank you'll be fine. The pH in my tank almost always reads 7, it shouldn't, but there it is. I can't explain it at all, but I'm able to run a successful mixed reef on it. When I was chasing the pH level, my coral suffered and it showed.

+1 on everything. Especially the ph part, just let it be where it's going be. I have never tested the ph in 3 of my 5 systems, and in the other 2 it's been probably 5 years since I checked
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 11:44 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 33
Update on tank if anyone cares
Stock:
2 Dwarf Red tip hermit crabs
2 Turbo Snails
1 LawnMower Blenny
1 Blue Green Damsel

Wanting to get a Ocellaris Tank Breed and call it good on fish, then a few more clean up crew, eventually get some soft corals,
Any of you guys wanna put your input?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sw tank.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	229531  
__________________
Schwebel
Schwebel7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 11:49 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Turbo snails shouldn't be in a 10.
Did you mean Astrea Turbos? Sometimes LFS advertise them incorrectly. The tank looks good though!

Also, people will advise you no clowns in a 10 unless it's the only fish.
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 12:44 PM   #13
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,257
Though I wouldn't do it, with good filtration and skimming it is possible. Why can't turbos be in a 10?
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 01:01 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Starting first cycle need help

They'd most likely starve. The big ones at least. I had a turbo in my 20, (he got mixed in with my astrea turbos) and he died within a week. They demolish algae way to fast, you'd have to feed them in such a small tank.

Edit: OP- Can you take some pictures of them?
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 03:17 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 33
I got a Ocellaris clown and the damsel kept on pestering him so i took him back to the fish store, and here is a picture of those snails, i know they are way too big for the tank now but oh well if they die itll leave a shell for the crabs and ill buy smaller snails, any suggestions on what kind of snails? and thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	swtank.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	29.6 KB
ID:	230831   Click image for larger version

Name:	sw ta k.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	252.1 KB
ID:	230832  

__________________
Schwebel
Schwebel7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 03:19 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macscale View Post
They'd most likely starve. The big ones at least. I had a turbo in my 20, (he got mixed in with my astrea turbos) and he died within a week. They demolish algae way to fast, you'd have to feed them in such a small tank.

Edit: OP- Can you take some pictures of them?
and sorry for the late reply, been busy with school
__________________
Schwebel
Schwebel7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 09:09 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
It's all good. Those damsels are mean... I try to avoid them at all costs. You may be OK with the snails. You'll just have to wait and see. How many did you get?
__________________

__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, star, start, starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting Fishless Cycle that may already be mid-cycle. jlbfish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 10-03-2012 12:37 PM
First cycle and starting to get readings! tim98 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 08-15-2010 11:40 PM
starting a second tank. Speed up cycle w/ first tank water? turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 11-28-2007 12:11 PM
First SW Tank! First post! First cry for help! MikeO88 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 08-02-2006 09:16 PM
Would this be ok, starting my 180 gal, first time cycle. 1brent1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 01-17-2006 12:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.