Starting my first saltwater tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

G1203

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi!

I'm starting my first saltwater tank and I need all the help I can get. As you can tell I'm new to the saltwater world, and I'm new to this forum. I have a 36 gallon bow front with a fluval 206 canister.
I'm really young so I don't have to much money. Any tips or tricks will help.

Thanks

Welcome! There is plenty to learn and asking questions here is a good start! I also bought a good reference book too and I still refer to it so worth the investment. There is probably too much info to list in one post so best to start step by step. Step one - read the stickies here on how to set up a saltwater tank and browse the threads of people who have similar sized tanks to you to get an idea of what equipment you will need (if it was me I would ditch the canister first up) Be warned, this can be an expensive hobby to get into. Plan early to avoid wasting money on the wrong equipment. You also can't rush it certainly in the first few months its a slow game. Patience and research will pay off in the long run. Good luck!

Thanks for the help! I have been reader hung for about 4 to 5 months and I think I'm going to get the test kit, power head, live rock/dry rock, water (I'm gonna buy per made water because I don't want to mess up the mixing), and live sand. I've got heater and thermometer already. Anything else I should invest in?

I don't know why it said reader hung. I meant to say have been researching.

I was nervous about the mixing too... While cycling you have plenty of time to practice.

Also you will be mixing water outside of the tank. Always check it before adding to the tank

Ok thanks! So your saying buy the mixed water at first then when I do a water change add my own mixed water