Starting up a reef tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

newyorkr212

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Good afternoon, my name is Jean and I needed some help. I have had a 75 gallon saltwater aquarium for years. I am not saying that I am an expert, but I am comfortable in maintaining it and keeping my fish healthy. My question is , my new hobby is starting a reef aquarium.
This is new to me. I just bought a 20 gallon high tank. I wanted to start small and once i am more comfortable, I will upgrade to a bigger tank. This is how I was able to maintain my 75 gallon. I started small and when I became more confident I upgraded.

Anyways, I have the tank, stand and light. I just want to make sure I set this right and the coral will thrive.
I am trying to figure out on a good filtration for this size tank that the coral will survive. I am excited and can't wait to start.
What else other than the live rock, live sand is it that I need to start the reef tank and be successful. Please help.

Thanks.

Welcome Jean! Reefing really isn't any more or less difficult than what you are already doing. You should know about cycling and the importance of water changes and maintaining parameters. The only real difference from fish only systems to a reef, besides hoping for lower nutrient levels, is having an intense enough light for the photosynthetic needs of the corals.
Any size will do, it's about what you want to do and are comfortable with. Depending on the livestock in your current setup, simply updating the lights could easily turn it into a reef tank depending on livestock in the system.
Since you said you have lighting, what is it? We can help you figure out if it will support photosynthetic corals or not.