Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-17-2014, 02:27 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
So i found an entirely dident cabinet with stuff in it. I've found enough salt to do 80 gallons and a 30 lb bag of aragonite sand. I also found a bag of what looks like gravel but says its for salt aquariums. I included a pic. Any thoughts on this?

I also found 3 smallish power heads. There are 2 aqueon 660s and one 550 and an additional HOB filter. I should have enough flow now correct? What directions should I point the flow?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 02:28 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
Sorry Here's a pic of the gravel stuff.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1395077286685.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	181.5 KB
ID:	228545  
__________________

__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 05:11 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Seems to be some kind of crushed coral.

The tank is 29gallons correct? Yes, that's enough flow, just stick the 660s in there on opposite ends of the tank.
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 07:13 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Don't use that large grain gravel. It will trap detritus (uneaten food and fish poop) and will eventually cause you problems. It will require regular maintenance. I suggest smaller grain sand.
As for the power heads, can you take a picture of them? I'm not familiar with an aqueon 660.
Do they look like this-
Aqueon Circulation Aquarium Pumps at PETCO

Or this-
Amazon.com: Marineland PH0660 Penguin Power Head 660, 170GPH: Pet Supplies
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 07:20 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
Okay. Didn't use the gravel between the new sand I found and the sand I cleaned I had more then enough. The power heads are from the bottom link. Included a pic. The one doesn't have a sponge on it. Well that be a problem?

Once all the salt gets dissolved and I get rock in I'll take a pic. I think it's coming around.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1395094804609.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	126.2 KB
ID:	228614   Click image for larger version

Name:	1395094815828.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	126.0 KB
ID:	228615  

__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 07:22 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
No...I was going to tell you to get rid of the sponges anyway.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 08:04 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
Okay. Pics after day 1 of cleaning. I know is cloudy but you get the idea. Thoughts on the aquascaping?



Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1395097467786.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	135.5 KB
ID:	228628   Click image for larger version

Name:	1395097483584.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	134.0 KB
ID:	228629  

__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 08:40 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Looks good, quite a change
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 08:56 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
Took some rocks from the cichlid tank to make the piles a little higher. Thoughts?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1395100547231.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	153.8 KB
ID:	228646   Click image for larger version

Name:	1395100559190.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	129.2 KB
ID:	228648  

__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 02:07 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
Okay new questions now that the tank is at least together. I want a CUC, soft coals, and fish in this tank. What order should I get these and any suggestions for something easy to care for and active?

CUC: I did find 1 red legged hermit crab and 2 snails in the tank while I was cleaning it. I'd like them to go back in the tank but obviously will need more. Any suggestions?

Fish: I have a 4 line damsel that is beautiful but is in another tank so she doesn't really need to go in this one. I love flame angels. Thinking some sort of goby maybe a watchman or citrus. Maybe a dottyback. Maybe something blue. I don't know. I want something fairly active and really colorful. Suggestions? I'm not a huge fan of clowns. I think they're overdone.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 10:47 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You don't need any crabs and snails in this tank if you don't want them. They really don't clean up anything and you will have to provide food for them. If there is no food in the tank they will starve to death. Hermit crabs kill snails out of instinct.
If you like crabs and snails, get a couple/few of them, and not the ridiculous amounts they recommend.
As for the order of things, I would add fish, one at a time. After the addition of a new fish, the bacteria colony will have to grow to accommodate. Corals can be added at any time after the cycle IMO.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 11:01 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
How long does it take to cycle a tank? I realize that's a loaded question, but I tested my waste this morning:

Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 10
pH 8.4

I'm pretty sure the tank can't already be cycled but I did reuse everything it just got rinsed so maybe?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 11:10 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Add a little pure ammonia to the tank and see how long it takes to process it.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 06:01 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Yeah, you must add an ammonia source.
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 10:13 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
Where do I get pure ammonia from?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 10:15 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Hardware store.
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 10:32 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
How much should I put in the tank to see how its cycling?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:13 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I would put a few drops in and test. Bring it up to noticeable levels. 1ppm maybe. A couple/few drops should be plenty.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:05 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
Okay I added it around 7:30 when I got here. If I check it at the end of the day 4:30ish, will that be a long enough time frame to tell?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:09 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Give it about 24 hours from when you dosed it.
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
red, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tank redo jbird79 Cichlid Discussion 20 02-17-2012 02:37 PM
Redo of 29g tank into puffer tank new2betas Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 2 03-18-2009 08:54 AM
Had to redo the discus tank Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 14 08-27-2008 03:58 PM
Tank teardown...and redo TeenReefer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 08-23-2006 07:44 PM
Question redo my tank bckane Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-05-2004 06:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.