Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-26-2020, 05:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Thinking About a Clowfish Tank

I've been thinking about getting my feet wet with clownfish for over a year. I've got plenty of experience with freshwater tanks. I probably won't actually do anything about getting a saltwater tank for a few more years. It wouldn't be anything big, just a 20g or so. It'd only have clownfish, marine fish get pretty big, and most of them are wild caught. If I do get clownfish, I'd convert one of the tanks I've already got. How do marine tanks differ from freshwater? Do clownfish need need sand, or would they be okay with gravel? What about filtration? The best filters on my tanks so far are canister filters. I don't want to deal with a sump, none of my current tanks are drilled, and I'd have no clue how to maintain it.

Old 09-26-2020, 05:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Tank of the Month Award

Youíll need marine sand not fw sand and live rock which acts as your main filtration for sw. on a 20g fish only system with 2 clownfish you could just run some carbon or Purigen in a hob filter. Youíd also need a power head for flow in the tank.

bribo12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 08:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist