Thinking of doing an 'odd ball' reef....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Scottyhorse

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hello :) I am new to the world of fish keeping. Just finished cycling my 25 gal and adding fish tomorrow!

Anyways, I have always been fascinated with marine fish, especially the odd balls. So I was just sitting her at the computer looking at SW fish online, and I thought, I want to do a SW reef tank. Uh oh... :lol:

Anyways, I was thinking either a 20 long or 40 breeder. I'll probably go with the 20 long because I think it will be easier to find and I already have a space for it, but I may be getting a rack that can fit 40 breeder tanks.. We'll see...

This tank it is going to be really weird compared to other reef tanks, but it's what I want to do. I have NO idea what all I need for this, and I would also like to not have a sump if it is possible to get away W/O one.

This tank ( I think) will be mostly corals, inverts, and sea cucumbers and such. I am thinking of only doing 1 or 2 fish. Odd ones of course!
Fish I like are:

Mandarin Gobies
Sargassum Fish
Wartskin Angler
Clown Fish (I know they are not add but I do like them)
Dragonets/Blennys/Gobies
Filefish
Lion Fish (Dwarf of course)
Puffers
Scorpion Fish

I know I can't have all of these ( of course) but I would like to know 1 or 2 of them I could do. I know it also depends on the tank size, too! Has to be reef an invert safe. The fish I would like to have most are the Mandarin Gobies, Filefish and Puffer Fish.

For inverts I am thinking:

Electric Blue Hermit Crab
Dwarf Yellow Tip Hermit Crab
Sea Cucumber, Yellow
Feather Dusters
Lettuce Sea Slug
Blue Velvet Nudibrach
Sexy Shrimp
Harlequin Shrimp
Camel Shrimp
Turbo Snails

Now the more I think about it I should really do the 40 gallon, huh? :lol: