Thinking of starting a reef tank...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shane87

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have been toying with the idea of a reef tank for quite a while but always talked myself out of it, I am thinking of taking the plunge into salt water aquaria next year sometime and just want to know what essential equipment I need ( apart from the tank obviously lol) I have a lot of experience with freshwater tropicals but any help on reef tanks will be appreciated :)

So much different equipment thats optional it all depends on what you want to do. Basic would be tank, lights, sump, skimmer, powerheads, return pump, overflow box unless you get a drilled tank, heater...

Thanks for the replies, does the water need to be RO? And yea I know about the live rock and coral sand. I am reading a book on it ATM but it says about fluidized sand beds and power heads and loads of stuff about lighting and stuff. Basically I need to know all the essential hardware for a beginner/moderate reef tank + essential test kits ect like salt lever checker and that kinda stuff. Is it really that much harder than fresh water?

Thanks for the replies, does the water need to be RO? And yea I know about the live rock and coral sand. I am reading a book on it ATM but it says about fluidized sand beds and power heads and loads of stuff about lighting and stuff. Basically I need to know all the essential hardware for a beginner/moderate reef tank + essential test kits ect like salt lever checker and that kinda stuff. Is it really that much harder than fresh water?
RO water is really the way to go it elimianates alot of the contaminates that are in the public water. you need a hydrometer to check the salinity, ph,nitrite, nitrate and ammonia test kits to start