Thinking of starting my first saltwater tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ddot82

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm completely new to salt water so any advice is good advice and is much appreciated. Right now I have a 90 gal freshwater and an empty 40 gallon bowfront. I've been tossing around the idea of using the 40 to start a saltwater tank then maybe the 90 too down the road. My only experiences have been with freshwater so far. So I know NOTHING about saltwater. Looking for any advice on equipment, stocking options, general cost of starting one up and maintaining it, links, books, and everything in between. Yes I will be browsing thru this site on my own as well but I figured it wouldn't hurt to start a thread as well. Thanks in advance!

First, do you know what you want to end up with, fish only, full reef, or somewhere in between. When I started with salt water, I got some books, which helped, but the best info I found came from a friend who had been keeping them for years. More research and learning now can and likely will save you plenty in the future

Sent from my Z750C using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I'm not sure, I went through several. One I do remember was the complete book of marine aquariums. Had lots of useful info, some of which is likely been updated by now. I did notice on Amazon that buying them based solely on reviews really made picking easier. What part of the planet are located in if I can ask?

Maybe see if there is a reefers group in your area also. This forum has some really good people on it, with amazing systems, you're heading the right way already

Any time, need anything answered, this is the place to be lol