Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-22-2014, 05:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
Tips on water changes

Any tips on how to quickly and more easily change/put water into or out of tank
__________________

__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 05:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 135
Syphion
__________________

__________________
moog24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 07:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
I just use a siphon and buckets but I run nano systems. I believe you can get a pump that will work to pump water from a trash can into the tank if you have a larger system. Hopefully someone with bigger tanks can chime in and tell you what they do
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 08:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
I use a power head to pump water out and then back in and run a hose outside but was wondering any easier ways...
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 07:42 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta Area
Posts: 92
How big is your tank and how far away from your kitchen sink is it?

Look into water changer kits at your LFS, they hook to the kitchen sink and are great for removing the water, straight from the tank down the drain.

Adding water is as simple as a piece of tubing from whatever you have your new water in to your tank as a siphon. I know a lot people use the Brute trash cans on the rolling base.

D
__________________
DRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 10:34 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
90 gallon I want to know how the people with over 100 gallon tanks change their water
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 10:55 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I pump mine out with a 1000gph pump into a utility sink nearby. Then another pump (I'm using a mag 5) to put my mixed water back in. I do this from the sump- I don't dangle a pump in the tank.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 11:26 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Best way is to use python syphon kit! Don't bother going to your lfs for it though, get it for half the price on amazon.
__________________
allathlete5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 11:39 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by allathlete5 View Post
Best way is to use python syphon kit! Don't bother going to your lfs for it though, get it for half the price on amazon.
I don't think this would work well on a salt tank though.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 11:44 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
My bad totally didn't see the reef section... Haha that changes things a little bit

From what I've seen having a mag pump in a 55 gallon barrel mixing ur salt water for a day or two then using that pump to pump the water into the tank

Sorry about my previous post
__________________
allathlete5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 12:25 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
Mrx is your water storage container close to your tank because I have to push my bin from The bathroom to the tank and then pump it in
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 01:28 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Yes, my barrels are close to the sump and I use a 10' piece of hose connected to those pumps to remove and replace. You can extend the hose from your RODI and keep your containers close as well, as long as it's not unsightly.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 02:49 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
What's the longest extension line on a rodi unit
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 05:08 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: ohio
Posts: 142
I only have a 50 gal and I use a pump also, so much quicker and easier
__________________
50 gal reef,sump,reef octopus 110,solar flare 108 watt, carbon gfo duel reactor.

Jeremy
jeremy upshir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 10:42 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bernville, PA
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tate View Post
90 gallon I want to know how the people with over 100 gallon tanks change their water

Right now on my 120g I syphon it out into a 5gal bucket until I get my 30 gal out. Then fill it each time from the tub and dump it in after mixing. PITA. But looking into the brute trash can option.
__________________
PAwrangler08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 06:37 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: bay area ca
Posts: 51
if you can plumb yours like the one in the link im posting, i would think it would be effortless. wish i could but im wayyy too far to my garage. that would be a lot of piping. lol

210 gallon Reef Build
__________________
vonskeezy28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 01:41 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. FishMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 348
Like Mr. X I have a 55 gallon food grade barrel with a heater and powerhead that I mix my saltwater in. When I need to do a water change its only a matter of siphoning some water out of the tank and attaching a hose to the powerhead in the barrel to siphon new water back in. I started doing this when I had my 120g up, but I now only have a 20g so a barrelful lasts me a good month or two before I need to refill.

Sent from my HTCONE using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Mr. FishMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, change, tips, water, water change, water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using distilled water instead of tap water for water changes. Camogirl28 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-04-2014 09:33 AM
changes changes changes Benjithecookiemonster Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 06-17-2008 03:26 PM
How do you prepare water for water changes? BryanN Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-10-2003 08:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.