Total newbie - advice needed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dwish8990

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everyone. I'm new to the forums. I've been reading the articles on this website as well as some of the posts and I've decided on taking the plunge into the aquarium world. I've visited a few of the local pet stores and have been looking at the 55 gal tanks. So... I have a few questions because it seems like every LFS gives me conflicting advice. Could someone break down what I'm going to need in the beginning stages? My goal is to have a saltwater tank with 3-5 fish and some crabs or other interesting little critters. The prices I've seen at the fish store for the tank, stand, and lighting came to about $300. What else is needed? Are there name brands in particular i should look for? Expense isn't really an issue I have a pretty open budget for everything. I'd like to get hte best things possible for my tank. What will I need in the beginning to cycle my tank? Thanks in advance.

Welcome to AA! Here is a general list that I can think of that you will need:

55-70lbs. lr (www.liverocks.com)
skimmer (Remora)
2-3 powerheads (Maxijet)
lighting (NO, PC, VHO)
salt (debatable)
substrate (sand)
timers - Home Depot
QT for your new arrivals (10-20 gallon setup)
Couple of buckets for mixing salt
Conscientious Marine Aquarist (Bob Fenner)

I'm sure others can add to the list. These are just a few things that you will need all together. HTH

Mike

i would say on the protien skimmer to look at the turbofloater.

sand - youre looking for 3-5 inches of sand to create a dsb. I used playground sand for all but the top layer and then i used "live sand". not sure if this is really necissariy, but i have tons of little things in my sand which do a great job of eating detris.