Total Newbie, where did I get ammonia?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jscliffo

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all, Im hoping this community can help me. I just set up my first saltwater tank a couple of weeks ago. My local fish store told me to put in some Dr. Tim's wait a week and then come in to test my water and get my first fish for a fish-in cycle with a second bottle of Dr. Tim's. I used CarabSea LifeRock and the Arag Alive sand and when I had the water tested my Ammonia and Nitrites were a little too high to add a fish. Where did the ammonia come from? I didnt add any and as far as I can tell the liferock and arag alive sand arent supposed to have a source. I appreciate the help, total newbie here.

Thanks! I used the Dr. Tims one and only but expected I would need to introduce an ammonia source to start the cycle. The rock they sold me was just in a pile on the shelf. My best guess is it had been used in one of their tanks and re-dried. Or maybe the AragAlive sand is more alive than advertised.

Couple things- depending on if it was clean dry rock or used to be live rock in a system- If it was clean dry rock, there’s a “chance” the bag of livesand gave you some ammonia. The amount that you tested at, however, unlikely. If the rock was dirty and simply removed from a system and put on a shelf, that in combination with the livesand can definitely give you enough die off ammonia to be your source. Id probably follow up with the store and ask so you have an answer.

That all said, what test kit are you using? Don’t say API please lol.