Volitan Lionfish Advice Needed Newbie Here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jasonanatal

Aquarium Advice Activist

I was wondering if anyone if any experienced aquarist could help me. I recently started a new 30 gallon Marine Tank about one month ago and added a Volitan Lionfish, Starry Puffer and a Turbo Snail. My Volitan Lionfish (named Achillies) gets feed two times a day with 1 frozen krill each feeding. Normally he goes wild and one gulp the krill is gone. Today he completely ignored the krill and didn't eat. Is something wrong? I he being feed too often? I'm nervous and hoping that when I get home tonight he will eat. Please advise!

I would not worry about him not eating for one day. Are you feeding him other things besides the krill?

I am sure that you have already been told that that starry puffer can get up to 2 feet long? It should only be kept in an aquarium that is several hundred gallons.

Your turbo is also going to come up missing very soon. I would start putting his face on the backs of milk cartons :(

Good Morning Demodiki,

I am currently just feeding him Krill I have shrimp pellets but he ignored them when I dropped them in. It seems as though he enjoys the hunt of something moving. When do you believe that I should start to worry about his eating habits? Is their a better schedule I should be on? As for my Starry Puffer and Turbo Snail I have a divider in the tank because when I introduced the Starry Puffer my Volitan Lionfish took a couple of attacks at him. So the Turbo Snail is on the side with the Lionfish. Any ideas also on if I should remove the divider since it seems that their territories have been established? Thank for your advice in advance.