want to experiment--need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kk_thomas05

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a freshwater tank that's up and running just fine, but I have an old 2 gallon that I cleaned up and just have had running for a while with nothing in it, so I decided to try a saltwater tank. How much salt do you use and is there anything I need to know? i'm completely new to salt! 8O

First off let me say that a 2 gal tank is not a size that anyone here is going to recommend as a starter saltwater tank.

The reasons are very simple. The smaller the volume of water the more the water conditions are going to fluxuate. Im not saying you cant do a 2 gal aquarium but what I am saying is that making a 2 gal aquarium as your first saltwater tank I would say thats way to small.

d9hp has a 7 gal tank and he can tell you how much work he puts into the tank per day.

If you insist on a 2 gal tank then you will need sea salt mix. You can not just use table salt.

You seem to be in your teenage years, hence the color of text. This should not discourage you as I am only 15. BUT, this is an expensive hobby and I dont have a lot of money for spending, just ask my girlfreind. My tank gives me great satisfaction, but right after I am done feeling good I need to fork out more dough.

Just think about that. BTW, if the movie finding nemo has anything to do with your new adventure I would just stop now, a clown will not fit into a 2 gallon tank.