Weekly water changes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Melissajk

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have a quick question. I have a 50 gallon rimless cube with a sump. I do weekly water changes and vacuum my sand each week. I usually do 8 to 10 gallon wc.
My question is: should I vacuum the sand every week. I was wondering if I'm talking to much of good stuff out.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I was getting high nitrates, so I started vacuuming the sand and it came down, also I feed my fish less food.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I am not an expert but I am sure there is a scientific reason why you shouldn't disturb the sand bed in salt tanks, something to do with potentially releasing harmful gasses? Perhaps someone can clarify that or explain it properly?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I do believe releasing harmful gasses is with a deep sand bed.

I do believe releasing harmful gasses is with a deep sand bed.

It is. Op IMO if you do it frequently it probably won't be a problem but as stated earlier it really shouldn't be necessary if you have proper flow. I personally never do it, but if done frequently I doubt there would be many trapped nutrients to be released into the water column.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice