What is best for cleaning algae of the glass

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mdw1974

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to SW my tank is a 60g and 2 months old and it looks great with all the algae etc on the LR, Sump and sand. I have only so far added 2 bangii cardinalfish, 2 peppermint shrimp a black eye goby and 3 blue green chromis. I want to eventually put a few corals and inverts in as well as some more fish. The glass is starting to get algae on it what can I put in the tank that is reef and community friendly that will eat the algae. Thanks.

Are you checking all of your water parameters? That is too many fish to add in such a short period of time. You need to take it slowly. I doubt you have sufficient biological filtration to accommodate that much bio load yet and would be concerned with possibility of ammonia building up and killing your livestock.

How much Liverock?
What do you feed, how much and how often?
How often and how large are your water changes.
Are you using rodi water?
Are you using a protein skimmer?

If you are seeing algae then you have excess nitrates and phosphates in your water. Meaning you are likely over feeding and not removing what you put in via water changes and filtration. CUC(clean up crew) to deal with algae is unnecessary and only temporarily hides the problem.