What should I be expecting to set up a 10 gallon reef tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Runsoncoffee

Aquarium Advice Regular
I’m new to saltwater, but work in a exotic pet store where I do take care of saltwater fish and corals. I want to get into the hobby without a huge tank or massive expenses, so I’m choosing to start with a significantly smaller tank size.
I plan on having a few hardy corals and at most one fish and a pair of inverts
What should I be expecting in terms of equipment needs? What are the best options for fish in a nano tank?

Pistol shrimp and gobies are fun to watch. But the smaller tank size will make for more maintenance

Pistol shrimp and gobies are fun to watch. But the smaller tank size will make for more maintenance

I’m okay with more maintenance, I’ve got a 5 gallon fresh that I try to clean 3 times a week. Some websites say that a pair of clowns (no bigger than percula species) what’s your opinion on this? Would it be too much bio load?

I wouldn’t do a pair of clowns in a 10, but 1 and a shrimp goby, or other small perching goby would be doable. In terms of maintenance there’s really no difference between a 10 and a 100 other than the importance of daily top offs which take 30 seconds, 10-20% or more weekly water changes and I like to give my rocks a good blasting with a turkey baster 10-15 minutes before I do the change and I’ll turn my flow all the way up to keep it suspended in the water column and most of it will get trapped in my filter floss. Toss that with the change and I’m done, total time on my 20 is 30 minutes start to finish doing 5gs.