What should I do?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xkenneth

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi,

I'm Ken, and I'm new around here, but i'll probably be a quite frequent visitor. I've been doing Aquariums for a couple months now and I've kept all sorts of freshwater and brackish fish. I've just purchased a 75 gallon tank off of eBay for a very good deal. And I cannot decide what to do with it. My initial thought was to do a "big" fish tank, i've got a Clown Knife that needs a home, as well as oscars and other larger fish. But this idea quickly lost appeal to me. My next thought was just a standard freshwater tank, I was thinking schools of Corydora and Tetra, but the problem is i cannot stand to see a freshwater tank without really well done plants. Doing plants in this tank would be a pain because I don't have the lights for it. So what i'm really trying to decide is wether i'll do this tank as a brackish or a saltwater tank. The guy I bought it from said that he did this tank as a full blown saltwater tank with no problems, but I'm doubtful of the water quality i'll be able to achieve with the current equipment.

Currently the tank has a TetraTec power filter, it's huge and has a built in heater, both of which are well suited for this tank. For lighting i've got a 48" hood with a 40 watt bulb. Actually i've got two of those, so I have 80 watts of lighting, but i'm not so sure i'll have 80 watts for very long.

So i'd like to find some answers to a few questions before I set this tank up.

Will I be able to support a Saltwater setup and maintain a good level of water quality with this setup?

Is the lighting enough?

Will I need a protien skimmer?

Will I need live rock?

What about substrate? I've filled it with about 70lbs of childrens playsand, which is fine for brackish, but i've read I need to get crushed coral for a salter tank.