Yup, another newbie here!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

arminkropp

Aquarium Advice Freak
First of all, I'm gonna say I'm sorry cause I'm sure you get these questions alot!!!

I'm getting a 50 gal tank in the next week or two for my first SW setup. I am a perfectionist so I want to get this right! I've spent money on books and now for the plunge.
Tank=50 gal, comes with Fluval 304 canister pump with skimmer attachment, 1x10000K flou. bulb and 1x12000K flou. bulb..not sure on the lumens? 30Watts though.
getting 2 Visitherm 150W heaters 2x maxi-jet 900 Powerheads
Prism deluxe skimmer is just around the corner. about a month away

Here's the questions i have:
what kind of sand would people suggest? I'm looking at aragamax select at the moment.

how long before I can put LR and other livestock in the tank? From what I can tell I'm looking at 3-5 weeks. Is that about right?

I want to eventually get away from using the Fluval pump and just going natural. Am I wrong in thinking that the fluval will help me with some mistakes I might make starting out? I know its wont do much for ammonia and ph too much.

What changes would you make if this was you first setup? I dont wanna break the bank on this, but i dont want to buy the wrong stuff either!

Is the Fluval skimmer attachment alright for the first month or so?

Well thats it for now, I'm sure I'll have more soon. Hope you can all bear with me!
Thanx for the time!

AK

I had no idea Fluval made a skimmer attachement. Intersting.

You'll be fine without the skimmer at first, but I'd make sure it's the next purchase you make. I would also recommend looking at other skimmers besides the Prizm. For just a little more you could get a MUCH better skimmer, like the CPR bak pak. If you want to go all out, look at the AuqaC remora (very popular around these forums).