10 gallon trouble!!!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nevaehleon

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I recently got a 10 gallon tank with 2 male ACFs. I got a Tetra Whisper 10-20 gallon filter, the problem is my water is very clear and my whole room where the tank is stinks. I have narrowed down the source of the odor. Well, it's my cartridge. I had activation carbon in it, but I talked to somone online that told me the carbon is what is making it smell. So I took the carbon out a cleaned of my catridge, but I used the same cartrdge because she said to almost never replece your catridge because it has a good bacteria on it. Well, my tank still smells very bad. Did I forget to mention the day this started I did a full water change? I am completly clueless!! I am just a beginner so I'm thinking of just getting a new filter, should I wait? Can you recommend any good filters that this won't happen with? Also I will be upgrading to a 20-55 gallon tank soon so I need to eventually get a filter. :banghead::(:ermm::confused::nono::hide::huh:
Thanks,
Nev

HI and welcome to AA!

You said your tank is "new." Have you cycled it before putting your ACFs in there? Cycle means that new tanks need time to grow the good bacteria needed to keep the tank healthy for fish and frogs, etc. A good way to do that is fishless cycling. If you can return your frogs to the store and do a fishless cycle, it would be best for you and for the frogs. Otherwise you are in for a LOT of water changes and potential problems with the frogs. This is a good step-by-step instruction on how to fishless cycle a new tank.

If you can't return the frogs, this article will be your friend for the next few months. This method is a lot of work and very dangerous for frogs and fish, etc., so just keep that in mind.