12 gal tank ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Galligak

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi, I'm new to AA and I have a 12 gallon tank. I've raised fish for a bit of my life but I stopped and now want to restart. I have a turtle tank (55gal) that has a 1 1/2 year old yellow bellied slider that I love to pieces but it (the tank) also came with two gold fish... I also have 2 betta in 2 different tanks (2.5gal each). I want to try something else. I have a 12 gallon tank that currently has a common snapper- but we're going to get rid of it soon- and I want to put some fish in it. I know a bunch about cycling (read lots of web pages, forums, books, etc.) so I know that but I want a few good ideas on what to get in the tank. I'm clueless. I have a 9 year old sister who wants something exotic-ish but something that a high schooler with multiple extra-circular activities and a 4.0gpa to keep up. Any, and I mean any, ideas would be welcomed!

I also have a 5.5 gal tank as well so ideas would be good for that one too. (don't say betta because I already have 2)

Last edited:
In a 12 gallon you could maybe do a dwarf gourami as your centerpiece fish with a small school of smaller tetras (6-8) and perhaps a small school of corys / dwarf corys (4)?

Or you could do a species tank and get a larger school of say cardinal tetras. Perhaps 14 or so? They would look really pretty in a large group like that.

Are you thinking of live plants?

I was thinking maybe one or two live plants and then maybe a few more fake ones. Also, thanks for the ideas!

By the way do you have an ideas for the 5.5gal tank? I've read a few other people's ideas for 5.5 gal tanks and they all say shrimp! But I'm not sure what type would be the best or if it's a good idea at all!