15 gallon yet another stocking thread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cmybliss

Aquarium Advice Regular
Well, now that I've decided my betta can't be in a community tank, I've been thinking about what I can put in my 15 gallon once it finishes cycling and I finish the ich treatment. (I think the ich was a product of the water quality in the betta's 1 gallon. Poor guy was not a happy fishy.)

Currently there are 2 green lantern platys doing a fish-in cycle. I'm new to all this, so have no idea what would be appropriate. I keep getting conflicting info from the internets.

Since the betta will not be the centerpiece, I want a pretty fish to take his place. I'd like to add some live plants, hopefully I'll have better luck with them than there terrestrial cousins. ;-) I'd also like a small colorful schooling fish,something with a light bio-load, and a cleanup crew. They all need to be able to get along with my bratty platys. (they terrorized poor Brock the betta.) Any ideas or suggestions? Would all this be feasible in such a small tank?

librarygirl said:
Should be. What type of 15 gal? A column or rectangle or hex, etc? If you could give dimensions that'll help.

Thanks.

It's a rectangular tank, approximately 23"x12"x11" deep. Typical petco kit. I've got black sand substrate, again from petco, tetra power filter 10 (I'll upgrade to a more powerful one soon) and a heater. Just put a live sponge from angelsplus.com over the filter intake.

Good. I'd suggest an AquaClear 30-50 for a better filter. You could do:

--Your two platys
--4-6 small corys (dwarf or pygmy is ideal; some pandas might work too but nothing larger)
--a school of 6-8 fish, rummynose tetra is one option. Harlequin rasbora another. There are many types of tetra and danios that would work, too many to name. If you find something you like let us know