Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-09-2014, 08:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
20 gallon long upgrade

I am going to get a 20 long tank and give my 10 gallon to my younger brother. Instead of cycling could I put my existing filter on the 20 and run it? If so for how long
__________________

__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 08:41 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SonicsDC25's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 403
Yep, I recently did this when I upgraded my 29g to a 55g (though I only transferred the media, not the entire filter like you are doing). However, don't add more fish than you already have. Wait a week or two to let the bacteria re-establish a bit and then afterwards just add a few fish at a time, so your bio-load doesn't overwhelm the BB.
__________________

__________________
55g: Malawi Mbuna/Peacock Tank (OLD)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GIGdZwpvfLg
140G Malawi Peacock/Hap Tank (NEW)
(Vid Coming Soon)
SonicsDC25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 08:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
Wait so this is what I'm going to do fill the tank with water sand and decorations then put new filter and old filter then add fish because my 10 gallon would have no filtration on it so I would have to right away
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 08:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SonicsDC25's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 403
That's fine, as long as you're either having the same or less amount of fish you already have in your 10g. Still check the water for a few days to see if there's a small ammonia spike, which a PWC can help fix. Might see a bit of ammonia for 2-3 days at about .25ppm, but after that you should be good to go.
__________________
55g: Malawi Mbuna/Peacock Tank (OLD)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GIGdZwpvfLg
140G Malawi Peacock/Hap Tank (NEW)
(Vid Coming Soon)
SonicsDC25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 09:02 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
Easy as that? Good. What size filter should I get like a 30 gal rated? Don't want to blow the sand around and if I were to get plants later on what lights would be good? Any lights?
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 09:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
And what filter brand do you recommend
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 09:38 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Aqueon aqua clears are good
__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:24 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishperson's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyofhockey View Post
Aqueon aqua clears are good
It's either aqueon or aqua clear
__________________
~ Alex
20 Gallon Shell Dweller Tank
"Stay fishy my friends."
Fishperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyofhockey View Post
Aqueon aqua clears are good
he def left the "or " out I have 4 brands running now and they're all working fine, all depends on what you stuff then with!
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:31 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 63
I have an aqueon quiet flow and an aqua clear on my 35 both are decent but the aqua clear is definitely much quieter than the aqueon.
__________________
Soul-Man22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:35 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rhsoto94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 395
You'd be fine with the method of upgrading you mentioned. Did the same thing from a 20 to a 40 just leave old filter on for a week. I saw a little nitrites the day after but other then that it was successful.
__________________
rhsoto94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 11:37 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
Anyone to weigh in on the lights?
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 11:38 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rhsoto94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 395
Depends on what kind of plants you want to grow. Most people go with t5ho fixtures or led's though.
__________________
rhsoto94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 07:23 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tate View Post
Anyone to weigh in on the lights?

are you growing plants or just viewing your fish?
__________________
gilpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 08:38 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
I might want to add plants laterv
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 11:24 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 1,273
May I suggest low light plants to start. There are quite a few you can choose from like Amazon swords and ferns which are the ones I use in my planted tank and for light I use a shop light with two 6500k T8's for about 6-8 hours a day which is a low budget way to light a tank. There are other plants that require more maintenance and more intense lighting like T5, T5HO and LED but they are way more pricey.

As far as using the filter from another tank, yes but make sure it's big enough to support the fish you are putting in it, you might want to make sure ammo levels don't go up too high the first few days by doing some water changes.
__________________
gilpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 05:02 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishperson's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,358
LEDs are great because they use far less watts and will save you money on your electric bill.

I recommend the finnex fugeray, it would give you medium light at least on a 20L.
__________________
~ Alex
20 Gallon Shell Dweller Tank
"Stay fishy my friends."
Fishperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 05:12 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
I am using my old filter and new on the 20
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 10:36 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
With a hood on the tank would this affect the light power?
__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 11:20 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 552
Got my tank setup and when I get my light fixture do I just get some plants and put them in or do I have to get soil or anything special like that
__________________

__________________
Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
20 gallon, gallon, long, upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
40 gallon Breeder to 55 gallon upgrade? trickshot3102 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 54 02-11-2014 05:17 PM
I may have just gotten me a free tank upgrade... Big time upgrade! Mrs.h2012 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 09-14-2012 04:01 PM
To upgrade or not to upgrade? JennaSimpson Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 05-15-2012 08:08 PM
How long do I have before a tank upgrade? Trena Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 05-13-2012 05:11 PM
Might be able to upgrade my 10gall planted to a 20gall long! blazeyreef Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 01-04-2007 11:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.