210g HELP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bonedog

Aquarium Advice Regular
Im new to fish. Inherited a 55g tank a week ago. Now I bought a 210g with 2 aquatop cf500uv canisters, 200lbs of crushed coral, and a heater. Lots of questions. I want to make it an african cichlid community tank. Ive read overstocking can curb aggression. I want to stock with juveniles to watch em grow. How many fish should I stock with? In an overstocked tank that big do I need to be really careful about which ones to put in? I plan on alot of rocks. Do I need plants too? I know I have more questions but im drawing a blank. Thanks

Okay so to give you a basics, nope no plants as they won't last. Yes over stocking is how you should go but you really should pick what type of Africans you want, there are mbunas, haps, and tangs really. That's still far to vast to know what you want so what I want you to do is go on www.liveaquaria.com and check out each type. Get a feel for what you like, colors, aggression, size and what not. Also read my thread

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/showthread.php?t=296930

It has a lot of helpful advice. I didn't know diddly squat about Africans until I started that thread. It's very informative

I know I didn't answer all your questions but, we need a starting point. Remember, patience is key to this hobby!

Thanks. Ive looked at some. Im thinking mbunas. I'll post a list of some I like tomorrow after work.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Thanks. Ive looked at some. Im thinking mbunas. I'll post a list of some I like tomorrow after work.

Sounds great, I'll be ready and I'll get some people who I know are very knowledgeable on these to help out.