•24 fish in a 20 gal: OVERCROWDED?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

memeaquarist

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey!

I am a beginner in the aquarium hobby.
I own a 20 gallon tank.
I have 24 tropical freshwater fish living it.
I have lost 5 in the last 2 weeks[emoji853] But I replaced them.

I have read several articles about overcrowding, but the lady at my local fish store said that I could keep up to 40 tropical fish in my tank, so I thought 24 would be fine.

They seem to be happy and healthy for the most part, but I feel like I am doing many things wrong.

My aquarium has a filter, heater, natural plants,
natural gravel, a log and some rocks. (Hiding spaces provided).

Many people have told me I lost those 5 fish due to stress caused by the transition. I really don't want to make them suffer and I don't want to lose anymore fish.

What can I do? Am I doing something wrong?IMG_1500.jpg

What fish are in the tank currently? How long has it been setup? You are probably losing fish due to toxic levels of ammonia or nitrites due to having a partially cycled tank.

You should read up on the "Nitrogen Cycle" and test your water for Ammonia/Nitrite/Nitrate.

Lastly, you should find a new fish store.

What fish are in the tank currently? How long has it been setup? You are probably losing fish due to toxic levels of ammonia or nitrites due to having a partially cycled tank.

You should read up on the "Nitrogen Cycle" and test your water for Ammonia/Nitrite/Nitrate.

Lastly, you should find a new fish store.

Thank you so much! No one at the store told me about the nitrogen cycle or tests for ammonia and those things. I live in Latin America in a very small country, hard to find that kind of stuff in there. Anyways I have:

• 2 guppies
• 5 neon danios
• 2 mollies (balloon)
• 2 neon tetras
• 3 tiger barbs
• 3 bottom algae eaters (1 pleco)